Country Profiles and Data: Loyola Resources
Following are some reference books that can help you get started with finding information about your country. Reference books (such as encyclopedias and dictionaries) aren't meant to be cited. Rather, they serve as a gateway for finding background information and authoritative sources for further research.
A Guide to Countries of the World (4th ed.) by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780191803000Publication Date: 2016This invaluable A–Z provides a wealth of up-to-date information on every country in the world, including dependent territories. Each entry provides a brief history of the country and outlines its political, economic, and social issues. A quick-reference fact box provides comparative information on land area, people, language, religion, life expectancy, GDP, and gender equality and environmental performance. Invaluable supplementary material includes detailed indicator tables showing income and poverty, health and population, and a list of international organizations, such as the EU and the African Union, with essential information about these groupings.
Hutchinson Nations of the WorldCall Number: Online AccessISBN: 9786610731428Publication Date: 2004This reference book, published in 2006, contains brief information about the recognized countries of the world (up to 2006).
Political Handbook of the World 2010 by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781608712625Publication Date: 2010-01-01With more in-depth coverage of current political controversies than any other reference guide, Political Handbook of the World 2010 is the most authoritative source for finding complete facts and analysis on each country''s governmental and political makeup. Featuring 200 entries on countries and territories throughout the world, this volume is renowned for its extensive coverage of all major and minor political parties and groups in each political system.
Finding Books and Other Materials about Your Country
To search for books and other sources in the library, go to the Advanced Search and use the Subject field to find catalog records that contain your search term in that part of the record. Use the radio buttons to search for Book, EBooks & More, Articles & Online Resources, and Available Online.
For example:
Under Refine my results, you can use the filters to narrow your search by Resource Type, Publication Date, Subject, and other options.
Country Profiles and Data: Websites
These websites contain authoritative information about modern-day countries, including information about their cultures and other important data. Check with your professor for approval prior to using these sources.
- BBC News: Country ProfilesFull profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
- CIA: The World FactbookLists population, government, military, and economic information for nations recognized by the United States.
- Countries of the World - InfopleaseProvides a brief overview of the world's countries and territories. T
- Library of Congress: Country Studies Area Handbook SeriesThe Country Studies Series focuses primarily on lesser known countries. It presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions.
- Map Index - InfopleaseThis resource provides maps of continents, countries, and territories.
- U.S. Department of State: List of CountriesContains A-Z list of country and other areas.
- UNdataStatistical information from member states on a variety of topics.
- World Culture EncyclopediaWeb-based version from Advameg of the four-volume set, Countries and Their Cultures, published by Macmillan Reference USA in 2001.
- World Religions - InfopleaseProvides information about the religious makeup of countries and a brief description of the world's major religions.
Research & Learning Librarian
Monique Clark
Contact:
Cudahy Library, Rm 108
773.508.2677