THEO 107: INTRODUCTION TO RELIGIOUS STUDIES
Hello and welcome to the THEO 107 research guide. Here, you will find resources related to your research assignments. If you have questions about library services and resources, or need research support, please contact me at mclark24@luc.edu
Why Use Background Sources
Background sources will help you:
- Learn important dates and events around your topic
- Browse a chronology or timeline for your topic
- Discover what scholars are talking about when they talk about your topic
- Find out who the experts are: who researches and writes about your topic
- Explore keywords and subject-specific vocabulary that can be used for database searches
- Find bibliographies that lead to additional resources
Listed below are a selection of books that can help you get started with learning about the religion and culture of your country. If you need additional background sources, contact the subject librarian.
Select Background Sources
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
The Cambridge History of Religions in Latin America
Recommended Databases
Article databases are generally online collections of journal article citations and full-text articles. You can search article databases by keywords, subject headings, authors and more. These databases provide access to scholarly information that can be useful for your topic. Starting your research with the library's databases will save time and ensure that you have access to the information you need.
- Anthropology Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text collection of ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowIndexes including international coverage of the fields of anthropology and archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Updated monthly. Coverage: 1899s - present.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of journals, newsletters, and bulletins, including the complete archival holdings from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new windowPhotographs, graphics, charts, news stories, and audio clips provided by The Associated Press. International in scope. Coverage: 1826 - present.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles on communication and mass media from scholarly journals. Coverage: 1900 - present.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowIndex of cross-cultural and ethnographic descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Collection is organized by cultures and ethnic groups.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of full-text reference ebooks.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndex of scholarly journals covering humanities and social sciences. Coverage: 1907 - 1984.
- Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online) This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedic entries covering topics in social sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes from international journals in sociology, social psychology, and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - current.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowIndex, including abstracts with some full-text, covering women's studies, gender studies, feminism, women's health, and women's history. Coverage 1972 - present.
Research & Learning Librarian
Monique Clark
Contact:
Cudahy Library, Rm 108
773.508.2677