Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Video Collections
The Loyola Libraries subscribes to several online streaming media collection. Videos are a great addition to class syllabuses, reports and presentations, and can contribute greatly to both background and topic specific research!
Streaming Video Collections
Below is a list of the licensed video databases available at Loyola. The subject content spans a diverse range of topics, from history. social work, psychology, and psychiatry, to performing and fine arts.
Many of these online video sources come from Alexander Street Press. For information on how to use their tools clipping and playlist tools, see this video.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online contains over 70,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Alexander Street Press Streaming Video
Access to Alexander Street Press streaming media includes the following individual collections: Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.
Ambrose Video 2.0
An extensive library of award-winning Streaming education materials, in social studies, literature, fine arts and the sciences. Includes the BBC Shakespeare Plays.
Docuseek Streaming Video
Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue, and environmental films to colleges and universities, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution. Their titles include films from Bullfrog, Icarus, and National Film Board of Canada titles and are all available a la carte via request from the Media Services Librarian at http://libraries.luc.edu/media .
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside iconic names in play-writing history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. The collection ranges from theater studies, literature courses, drama schools; the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the personal.
FILM PLATFORM serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. The collection is meticulously curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, and the catalogue is continually growing.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is the streaming video arm of Films Media Group (formerly Films for the Humanities). Films Media Group is a source of high-quality video on academic, vocational, and life-skills topics that serves the needs of schools, colleges, libraries, the medical community, and other institutions with the broadest and deepest range of content available. The streaming options for Loyola are on an a la carte basis upon request. Requests should be submitted to Audio Visual services at: http://libraries.luc.edu/av
Intelecom (Philosophy Collection)
Intelecom’s Philosophy Collection provides core content offering in-depth analysis of the wisdom of the Western world using writings of past philosophers and expert interviews from pre-eminent scholars and philosophers. Includes “The Examined Life” series of videos.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy Streaming is a new service offering access to thousands of titles from the largest educational film providers. The library will license some whole collections while other titles may be previewed and requested a la carte directly by faculty for instruction. All titles come will full Public Performance Rights and may even be screened outside the classroom where no admission is charged.
Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
PsycTHERAPY contains more than 300 videos featuring therapy demonstrations showing clinicians working with individuals, couples, and families. More than 230 different topics are covered throughout hundreds of hours of filmed demonstrations. It is a highly flexible tool with synchronized, searchable transcripts that enhance user navigation and access. Includes the ability to tag segments of each therapy demonstration to create, save, or share personal playlists. NOTE: To access PsycTHERAPY, click on blue PsycTHERAPY link near the middle top of the page.
Swank Motion Pictures
Swank is a database of popular Hollywood titles that you can stream to your students - think Netflix but for education! Titles are limited and do NOT come with Public Performance Rights (cannot be screened to groups outside of the classroom). Swank's titles are on an a la carte basis- contact the Media Services Librarian, James Conley (email@example.com), to request a title to be added to this database. Please note that not all films can be added and due to studio copyrights sometimes titles once available are pulled for re-release in theaters. You can browse the full selection of titles to add at http://digitalcampus.swankmp.com/.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Indexes evening network news broadcasts from 1968 to the present with streaming video for broadcasts from NBC and CNN (broadcasts from other networks only available with payment)
Citing AV Materials in Your Research
News from Loyola University Chicago Libraries.