Home - THEO 232: New Testament - O'Connell - LibGuides at Loyola University Chicago

Biblical Commentaries Ebooks

The library collection includes all published ebooks from these authoritative biblical commentary series.

Biblical Commentaries Ebooks
Use the catalog's advanced search to identify the series and its ebook volumes using the strategy described in this short tutorial and summarized in the descriptions below.

Hermeneia
From Fortress Press; search "Hermeneia" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
International Critical Commentary
From Bloomsbury Publishing; search "International Critical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
Word Biblical Commentary
From Zondervan Academic; search "Word Biblical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.

Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries
Substantive, renowned commentary on the books of the Hebrew and Christian Bibles and the Apocrypha.

Biblical Commentaries Elsewhere in Library Collections

Use the library catalog's advanced search to most efficiently find these books, both print and electronic.

This interactive tutorial explains how to isolate commentary from other books on aspects of biblical studies.

Biblical Studies in Journal Articles

Atla Religion Database lists articles published in journals as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings.

Use the Scripture Citation Index in Atla to search for journal articles (and other materials) on your passage of scripture; note the Scriptures link in the maroon navigation menu at the top of the search screen.

Finding Sources in Atla Religion Database

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Access the research database and start your search.

Biblical Commentaries that Apply a Particular Methodological Approach

Add a keyword to your searches in Atla Religion Database related to the methodology. For example:

Add womanist
- And, alternatively, also consider trying feminist
Add economic
- And, alternatively, also consider trying poverty
Add liberation
- And, alternatively, also consider trying immigration

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation
Publication Date: 2013

Find explanations of the methodological approaches in this online background research source.

Annotated Bibliographies and Citations

Annotated Bibliographies | Loyola University Libraries
This guide provides a general overview of how to create an annotated bibliography. Check in with your instructor for specific details about requirements, etc.
Annotated Bibliographies | Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This page created by the Purdue OWL, contains a brief description of annotated bibliographies and how they're used in the research and writing process. The page also provides a detailed breakdown of an annotated bibliography, as well as sample bibliographies.
Annotated Bibliographies | University of Toronto
The library at the University of Toronto created a helpful guide to writing annotations.

Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) Citations

The links below provide information about creating CMS citations. For additional help with citations and with writing, schedule an appointment with the Writing Center.

Loyola University Writing Center
Visit the Writing Center's website to receive in-person or online help for your writing assignment or submit your assignment for asynchronous feedback from a writing tutor. To set up an appointment, you will need to register for an account through My WCOnline
NCSU Citation Builder
Includes templates for bibliography entries documenting the use of ejournal articles, ebooks, and ebook chapters in Chicago style's author/date system. Always verify to make sure that your citations are in the correct format. Citation generators/builders may not have the correct information.
Quick Guide to the Abbreviated Format Used for Scripture
Remember that your passage calls for a special format; find it summarized in this separate document.
Chicago Manual of Style E-Book
Provides the complete style manual including all rules and examples by source type in both versions of Chicago style: notes/bibliography and author/date.

24/7 Research Help

Chat at any time

Generalist librarians offer particularly helpful guidance with online source identification and access.

Research & Education Librarian

Monique Clark

Contact:

Cudahy Library, Rm 108
773.508.2677

Subjects:

African Studies and the African Diaspora, Anthropology, Criminal Justice &
Criminology, Pastoral Studies, Theology & Religion

Email Me

Ask A Librarian