Finding Biblical Commentary in Books
This guide explains how to search the online catalog for biblical commentary in books.
Association of Chicago Theological Schools
Loyola University Libraries is a member of the Association of Chicago Theological Schools, and graduate students have reciprocal borrowing privileges at member libraries.
Subject Librarian
Where are the books?
The Loyola Library catalog includes a variety of resources, including books and print journals, but where do you locate the physical item in the library?
Cudahy Library, on the Lake Shore Campus, contains the print collections for theology. You can find:
- Print journals on the lower level
- Reference materials on the first floor, in the reference collection (Stack Deck B)
- Books on the third floor
- Rare books on the second floor, in the Archives and Special Collections reading room (accessible by appointment).
Loyola uses the Library of Congress classification system; materials on the Bible are located in Class B in the following call number ranges, if you would like to browse the stacks:
BS 1-2970: The Bible
BS 701-1830: Old Testament
BS 1143: Hebrew Bible
BS 1201: Historical books
BS 1221: Pentateuch
BS 1231: Genesis
BS 1241: Exodus
BS 1251: Leviticus
BS 1261: Numbers
BS 1271: Deuteronomy
BS 1286: Prophets
BS 1691: Apocrypha
Use the "Find Books & E-Books" link below to easily access the catalog and start searching for books!
- Find Books & E-BooksUse the library's search to find books. Both physical and e-books will appear in your search results. You can use the facets to limit your results to only e-books or only books we physically have.
Searching Beyond Loyola's Collection
Worldcat and other local institutions can also be searched for resources.
- WorldCat Firstsearch This link opens in a new windowRecords of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
- Additional SearchingCurrent Loyola students, faculty, and staff may borrow items directly from other institutions. View the information under the "Other Options" and "Other Catalogs" heading on the main search page here.