Books
The books displayed here can be used to begin your research on African textiles and textiles from other regions. If a book is shown as Not Available, that means that it has already been checked out, but you can request a copy of the book through Interlibrary Loan if you sign in using your Loyola email address and password. I strongly recommend taking advantage of interlibrary loan if the book you need is not available. Interlibrary loan can also be used to request catalog and other unique items.
Some books may also be checked out to the May Weber Collection, so check with Dr. Nichols if the book you want is in the catalog, but not available.
For more information about a book listed below, click on the icon where available.
Table of Contents |
|---|
| Select Books on African Textiles |
| Select Books on Textiles from Other Regions |
| Select Books on Textiles and Fabric (General) |
| Select Books Available Outside of Loyola |
Select Books on African Textiles
Africa Adorned by
The culmination of the author's seven-year immersion in African adornment is a fascinating depiction of a great array of modes of jewelry and body decorationfrom the Sahara to Cape Horn - its evolution and its distinctive craftsmanship. 457 illus., 414 in full color. 304p.
Call Number: Cudahy Library, Oversize (Deck A) ; GT1580 .F57 1984ISBN: 0810918234Publication Date: 1984-09-30
African Costumes and Textiles by
*This book is a tribute to the creativity of the peoples of Africa, in particular to its weavers, and presents magnificent textiles and accessories in 300 full-color photographs Celebrating African costumes and textiles, this volume draws on historical and modern pieces from the Zaira and Marcel Mis Collection. The extraordinary works exemplify the craftsmanship of highly skilled African weavers and provide insight into the lives and culture of various ethnic groups. The book presents a variety of costumes, textiles, and accessories used for everyday wear and for special celebrations, and explores the different techniques, influences, and meanings behind these colorful works of art. The essays describe the history of the development of these techniques and the richness of the symbolism in this form of cultural heritage. The superb photography showcases the splendor of these intricate and exquisite textiles.
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9788874394760Publication Date: 2019-02-25
African Fabric Crafts by
Demonstrates a wide variety of techniques & designs used in African crafts, including loomless weaving, plaiting, dying, batik, appliqué, embroidery & more. Extensively illustrated with black-and-white photographs, some full-color plates, & diagrams. 160 pages.
Call Number: Cudahy Library, TT699 .D45 1974ISBN: 0800801504Publication Date: 1974-10-01
African Majesty by
Within the borders of present-day Ghana and Togo, there exists a tradition of weaving. Inspired by the demands of royalty and ceremony, the weavers of the Ashanti and Ewe tribes have created cloths that combine colour and pattern. Worn like the togas of ancient Rome, these textiles are made from narrow lengths of cotton or silk, first woven on small drag looms, then cut and sewn together. The bands of colour are often balanced and enhanced by the woven details of motifs, providing a vocabulary of information for the owner and the onlooker - an indication of prestige or rank, or as a reflection of the key elements of everyday life. Over 130 textiles are included in the book, together with full descriptions of each example. An historical survey, an explanation of the methods of weaving and the use of cloths, is also included. This text should appeal to anyone interested in textile history, in African culture, or in tribal art.
Call Number: Cudahy Library, Oversize (Deck A) ; NK8889 .A35 1992ISBN: 0500236399Publication Date: 1992-10-01
African Textiles by
The first comprehensive account of the textile manufacture and design of the African continent. Covers the technical aspects of production as well as social, political, and religious significance of African textiles. Beautiful color plates. With 2 maps. Bw photos of people, places, and textiles being worn.
Call Number: Cudahy Library, NK8987 .P52ISBN: 0714115525Publication Date: 1979-01-01
The Art of African Textiles by
This is a comprehensive look at the textiles of contemporary Africa. It includes essays on the hand-woven textiles of West Africa, applique and embroidery, the impact of European trade and the use of textiles as an art form.
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9780853316824Publication Date: 1996-05-01
Art of African Textiles by
Textiles are a major form of aesthetic expression across Africa, and this book examines long-standing traditions together with recent creative developments. A variety of fine and venerable West African cloths are presented and discussed in terms of both artistry and technique. Wrapped around the body, fashioned into garments, or displayed as hangings, these magnificent textiles include bold strip weavings and intricately patterned indigo resist-dyed cloths. Also considered by the authors are striking contemporary works—in media as far-ranging as sculpture, painting, photography, video, and installation art—that draw inspiration from the forms and cultural significance of African textiles.
This catalogue accompanies an exhibition held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, September 30, 2008–March 22, 2009.
Call Number: Check May Web CollectionISBN: 9781588392930Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Cloth in West African History by
In this holistic approach to the study of textiles and their makers, Colleen Kriger charts the role cotton has played in commercial, community, and labor settings in West Africa. By paying close attention to the details of how people made, exchanged, and wore cotton cloth from before industrialization in Europe to the twentieth century, she is able to demonstrate some of the cultural effects of Africa's long involvement in trading contacts with Muslim societies and with Europe. Cloth in West African History thus offers a fresh perspective on the history of the region and on the local, regional, and global processes that shaped it. A variety of readers will find its account and insights into the African past and culture valuable, and will appreciate the connections made between the local concerns of small-scale weavers in African villages, the emergence of an indigenous textile industry, and its integration into international networks.
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9780759104211Publication Date: 2006-06-08- Shoowa Design by The Shoowa people, a small tribe from the kingdom of Kuba, now Zaire, have been designing and making embroidered textiles for hundreds of years. With their complex geometrical patterning and bold colours, these works of art were used in a variety of ways by the Shoowas, as status symbols, dowries, shrouds, religious vestments or as a type of currency. Genuine production ceased around 1905, with the result that they have become collectors' items.Call Number: Check May Weber CollectionISBN: 9780500973318Publication Date: 1986-01-01
- Style, Classification and Ethnicity byISBN: 9780871698032Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Unwrapping the Textile Traditions of Madagascar by
Unwrapping the Textile Traditions of Madagascar presents the first extensive treatment of Madagascar's textile traditions region by region, giving a systematic overview of the woven products of each part of the country. It includes types of cloth that have previously been overlooked and explores contrasting uses and meanings among the highly varied cultures of the island. It also publishes for the first time many of the remarkable cloths from the collection assembled by Ralph Linton in 1926 and 1927 for the Field Museum.which represents perhaps as much as 50 percent of the textile heritage of Madagascar. Beautiful color illustrations and scholarly commentary make this book useful for scholars, connoisseurs, and heritage-preservation experts, as well as weavers interested in reviving traditional techniques and designs. Chapurukha M. Kusimba is associate curator of African archaeology and ethnology, J. Claire Odland is a museum associate, and Bennet Bronson is curator of Asian archaeology and ethnology, all at the Field Museum in Chicago. Other contributors include Sarah Fee, Rebecca L. Green, Edgar Krebs, Ralph Linton, Liliana Mosca, Simon Peers, Richard Peigler, Chantal Radimilahy, Michel Razafiarivony, and Wendy Walker.
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9780930741952Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Wrapped in Pride by
Kente is not only the best known of all African textiles, it is also one of the most admired of all fabrics worldwide. Originating among the Asante peoples of Ghana and the Ewe peoples of Ghana and Togo, this brilliantly colored and intricately patterned strip-woven cloth was traditionally associated with royalty. Over time, however, it has come to be worn and used in many different contexts. In Wrapped in Pride, seven distinguished scholars present an exhaustive examination of the history of kente from its earliest use in Ghana to its present-day impact in the African Diaspora.
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9780930741693Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Select Books on Textiles from Other Regions
- African Textiles and Decorative Arts byCall Number: Check May Weber CollectionISBN: 0870702289Publication Date: 1972-01-01
- African Textiles Today byCall Number: Check May Weber CollectionISBN: 9781588343802Publication Date: 2012-10-09
- Batik, Traditional Textiles of Indonesia byISBN: 9781462918317Publication Date: 2016-02-02
- Ethiopia engraved : an illustrated catalogue of engravings by foreign travellers from 1681 to 1900 byCall Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9994400444Publication Date: 2014
- Liminal margins: performance masks, masquerades and facekuerades byCall Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9785645428Publication Date: 2019
- Threads of tradition textiles of Indonesia and Sarawa byCall Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Publication Date: 1979
Select Books on Textiles and Fabric (General)
A Companion to Textile Culture by
A lively and innovative collection of new and recent writings on the cultural contexts of textiles The study of textile culture is a dynamic field of scholarship which spans disciplines and crosses traditional academic boundaries. A Companion to Textile Culture is an expertly curated compendium of new scholarship on both the historical and contemporary cultural dimensions of textiles, bringing together the work of an interdisciplinary team of recognized experts in the field. The Companion provides an expansive examination of textiles within the broader area of visual and material culture, and addresses key issues central to the contemporary study of the subject.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781118768730Publication Date: 2020-08-14
Encyclopedia of Textiles by
Spanning nearly 5000 years of textile history, this book covers the field from the first practical and decorative use of fabrics to the introduction of modern synthetic materials. Organized in an A to Z format, the work provides information on fabric, fabrication methods, machine processes (felting, weaving) and more. At the same time, the book also covers methods of producing and treating fabrics, such as block printing, calendering and delustering. Biographies of major textile and fabric innovators are also included.
Call Number: Lewis Library, TS1309 .J47 1992ISBN: 0816021058Publication Date: 1992-03-01
Fabric : the hidden history of the material world by
A magnificent work of original research that unravels history through textiles and cloth--how we make it, use it, and what it means to us. A New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice How is a handmade fabric helping save an ancient forest? Why is a famous fabric pattern from India best known by the name of a Scottish town? How is a Chinese dragon robe a diagram of the whole universe? What is the difference between how the Greek Fates and the Viking Norns used threads to tell our destiny? In Fabric, bestselling author Victoria Finlay spins us round the globe, weaving stories of our relationship with cloth and asking how and why people through the ages have made it, worn it, invented it, and made symbols out of it. And sometimes why they have fought for it.
Call Number: Cudahy Library, NK8806 .F565 2022ISBN: 9781639363902Publication Date: 2022-11-08
The Fabric of Civilization by
From Neanderthal string to 3D knitting, an "expansive" global history that highlights "how textiles truly changed the world" (Wall Street Journal) The story of humanity is the story of textiles--as old as civilization itself. Since the first thread was spun, the need for textiles has driven technology, business, politics, and culture. In The Fabric of Civilization, Virginia Postrel synthesizes groundbreaking research from archaeology, economics, and science to reveal a surprising history. From Minoans exporting wool colored with precious purple dye to Egypt, to Romans arrayed in costly Chinese silk, the cloth trade paved the crossroads of the ancient world. Textiles funded the Renaissance and the Mughal Empire; they gave us banks and bookkeeping, Michelangelo's David and the Taj Mahal. The cloth business spread the alphabet and arithmetic, propelled chemical research, and taught people to think in binary code. Assiduously researched and deftly narrated, The Fabric of Civilization tells the story of the world's most influential commodity.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781541617612Publication Date: 2020-11-10
The Fabric of Empire by
This book shifts how we look at cultural objects such as books and fabric and provides a material and literary history of resistance among the globally dispossessed. Each chapter examines the manufacture and global circulation of a particular type of cloth alongside the complex print networks that ensured the circulation of these textiles, promoted their production, petitioned for or served to curtail the rights of textile workers, facilitated the exchange of textiles for human lives, and were, in turn, printed and written on surfaces manufactured from broken-down linen and cotton fibers. Bringing together methods and materials traditionally belonging to literary studies, book history, and material culture studies,
Call Number: Online Access | Cudahy Main Stacks, HD9850.5 .S55 2020ISBN: 9781421439686Publication Date: 2020-12-08
Handbook of Museum Textiles by
The book is a valuable guide for textile conservationists preserving Heritage and Cultural Knowledge. The most modern techniques used for the characterization of archaeological textiles has also been covered in this book. The instructions for conservation techniques to preserve the textile heritage is presented in a more scientific and technological way. The book aims to specify importance of textile museums and to bring cultural heritage closer to each individual and society. It will serve as an educational asset and tool for researchers, art scholars, archaeologists, museum curators, textile conservators, and those who are interested in the field of traditional or historic textile collections.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781119983903Publication Date: 2022-12-16
A History of Textiles by Call Number: Cudahy Library, TS1315 .W54ISBN: 0891584919Publication Date: 1979-05-21
The Primary Structures of Fabrics by
Based on years of study of a huge range of fabrics produced by hand or by strictly limited mechanization, its essential strength is its universality. In this monumental work, the structures and the descriptive terms applied to them are clearly presented according to their logical relationships to each other, moving from the simplest to the most complex. The book is divided into three parts: the raw materials of fabric structures (filaments and fabric elements); the fabric structure themselves, whether felted or made from interworked yarns; and structures such as stitches or appliqué.
Call Number: Check May Weber CollectionISBN: 9780500288023Publication Date: 2009-06-19
Textile Collections: Preservation, Access, Curation, and Interpretation in the Digital Age by
The book explores: The nature of digital material culture. The role of audience participation versus curatorial authority online. Audience-friendly collections metadata and tagging. Visual, rather than text-based, searching and cataloging. The legality of ownership and access of museum collections online. Gender equity in museums and archives.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781442263666Publication Date: 2016-04-08- Textile Identification, Conservation and Preservation byCall Number: Library Storage Facility | TS1449 .K478 1985ISBN: 0815510330Publication Date: 1985-11-01
Textiles by Call Number: Cudahy Library, NK8806 .T45 1993ISBN: 0810938758Publication Date: 1993-09-30
Textiles: Production, Trade and Demand by
This volume examines the role of textiles within the expanding global economy in the Age of European Exploration. Major themes include: the opening of new markets and responses to competition in the cloth trade, evolving techniques and modes of production, and changes in the patterns of consumption of local and imported cloth in a comparative, cross-cultural context.
Call Number: Library Storage Facility, HD9850.5 .T39 1998ISBN: 0860785092Publication Date: 1998-07-16
Understanding Fabrics by
Encyclopedic in scope, this reference text supplies definitions of textile terms, and details the best methods to clean, dye, print, and finish fabrics. Topics include functional and technical aspects of fabrics. Topics include functional and technical aspects of fabrics, materials and methods of textile production, performance expectation of fabrics, and behavior and relationship pf fiber properties to fabric behavior. The text also contains an extensive bibliography, index, and list of trade textile associations.
Call Number: Cudahy Library, TS1765 .G53 1982ISBN: 0870053779Publication Date: 1989-09-07
Select Books Available Outside of Loyola
The books below can be requested from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
- Exhibition Catalog Search - WorldCatPublished museum catalogs can be helpful sources of information and provide examples of different textiles and crafting techniques. Search results from WorldCat containing the search query: Exhibition Catalogs AND Textiles AND Afric*
African apparel : threaded transformations across the 20th century by
Featuring African textiles, clothing, headwear, and jewellery, this book celebrates African dress as a product of global interactions, generational conflict and continuity, and expressions of gender. The book highlights the strength and resilience of long-standing practices that characterise African dress; the wide variety of cultural, religious, and political motivations for adorning oneself; and the varying identities reflected in analysing African material culture of the last century and a half. Textile selections include hand-woven and dyed examples alongside factory-woven and machine-printed cloth. Items of adornment include amber and silver jewellery from North Africa, beadwork-embellished clothing from South Africa, and various headdresses from across the continent, to name a few examples. From formal European colonisation, to independence for African countries, to the liberalisation of African economies, this book will demonstrate how dress practices reveal personal and group identities, cultural traditions, religious associations, political affiliations, and aspirations.
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9781785512636Publication Date: 2020-02-03- African costumes and textiles from the Berbers to the Zulus : the Zaira and Marcel Mis collection by
*This book is a tribute to the creativity of the peoples of Africa, in particular to its weavers, and presents magnificent textiles and accessories in 300 full-color photographs Celebrating African costumes and textiles, this volume draws on historical and modern pieces from the Zaira and Marcel Mis Collection. The extraordinary works exemplify the craftsmanship of highly skilled African weavers and provide insight into the lives and culture of various ethnic groups. The book presents a variety of costumes, textiles, and accessories used for everyday wear and for special celebrations, and explores the different techniques, influences, and meanings behind these colorful works of art. The essays describe the history of the development of these techniques and the richness of the symbolism in this form of cultural heritage. The superb photography showcases the splendor of these intricate and exquisite textiles.
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9788874394760Publication Date: 2019-02-25
Africa interweave : textile diasporas by
"Demonstrates the continuity of textile traditions in new, innovative forms that, in some cases, have not been exhibited in the UnitedStates or acquired by U.S. museums. Student involvement provided an opportunity for the [Harn] to gain access to works that no one else could provide."--Rebecca Nagy, Director, Harn Museum of Art This book celebrates an exciting exhibition at the University of Florida's Harn Museum of Art that features contemporary and traditional African textiles. The more than fifty objects on display as part of Africa Interweave include five newly commissioned works. The commissions, many arranged by students conducting fieldwork in countries across the continent, include an embroidered woman's cotton robe with traditional embroidery patterns in silk from Mali, a kente cloth commemorating a visit to Ghana by Bill Clinton in 2009, and an Ebonko masquerade ensemble from Nigeria. This accompanying volume, overseen by curator Susan Cooksey, offers in-depth essays on such topics as the trade routes for indigo, kente and other African-print commemorative cloth, cheiftancy dress and masquerades, Asafo flags, the emergence of the East African kanga, and much more. This volume is an essential introduction to both the diversity of local production and aesthetics, as well as the global influence on regional ideas, materials, and techniques. Africa Interweave: Textile Diasporas, appeared at the Samuel P. Harn Museum of Art February 8-May 8, 2011. The future travel schedule for the exhibition has not yet been finalized.
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9780983308508Publication Date: 2011-04-01
African Textile Patterns by
This stunning collection of African textile prints has been carefully selected from a range of traditional and contemporary patterns. From exuberant and colourful patterns to elegant, flowing designs, this book celebrates the vibrancy and variation of African textile prints. The introduction helpfully explains the significance of the patterns, the textiles market and the current popularity of African textiles in fashion and interiors. This fantastic range of full-colour images is also available in a digital format on the accompanying CD.
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9781408130728Publication Date: 2011-12-08
African textiles : color and creativity across a continent by
This book comprehensively surveys and celebrates in over 570 spectacular colour photographs the traditional, handcrafted, indigenous textiles of the entire continent of Africa. Covering, region by region, the handmade textiles of West, North, East, Central and Southern Africa, African Textiles outlines the vast array of techniques used as well as the different types of loom, materials and dyes that help to create these sumptuous textiles. In addition, the important influences on textile production - religion, culture, trade, tradition, fashion and the changing role of women - are assessed in each of the different regions of Africa. With a useful glossary and map, a guide to collections open to the public, and suggestions for further reading, this book provides a wealth of information on the rich art of African textiles.
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9780500292211Publication Date: 2016-02-15
Printed and Dyed Textiles from Africa by
"To go to any market in West Africa, where the women are swathed in brightly patterned wraps, is to experience an assault on your visual senses. This book, too, is a visual feast, illustrating the richness and diversity of the African textile tradition, and providing designers at all levels with inspiration for their own work. Over thirty textiles from the British Museum's renowned collection are explored in detail; magnificent blue and white, indigo-resist-dyed cloths from West Africa; 'mud cloths' from Mali; the unique warp-striped weaves and ikats from Madagascar; 'adinkra' block-prints and painted 'calligraphy' cloths from Ghana and the 'adire' cloths from Yorubaland." "In his enlightening text John Gillow provides the background information to bring the pieces to life and clearly explains the full range of principle techniques employed. In addition, brief commentaries highlight the design features and a technical glossary supports the main text so you can rely on the book for eye-catching patterns as well as refer to it for specific information."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9780295981383Publication Date: 2003-12-01- Textiles of Africa byCall Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9780903859080Publication Date: 1980-11-01
- Weaving in Africa south of the Sahara byCall Number: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ISBN: 9783767902701Publication Date: 1987
Research & Learning Librarian
Monique Clark
Contact:
Cudahy Library, Rm 108
773.508.2677
Subjects:
African Studies and the African Diaspora, Anthropology, Criminal Justice &
Criminology, Pastoral Studies, Theology & Religion