Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a thorough review of the most recent research about intimate partner violence. Additionally, a historical review provides readers with a sense of how views on domestic violence have changed over time and how different policies and practices have and have not been successful. The volume also includes a chronology of key events, relevant data and documents, primary source data, and recommended resources.
The Handbook of Crime Correlates, Second Edition summarizes more than a century of worldwide research on traits and social conditions associated with criminality and antisocial behavior.
Presents current and future studies on the changing dynamics of the role of immigrants and the impact of immigration, across the United States and industrialized and developing nations. It covers the changing dynamics of race, ethnicity, and immigration, and discusses how it all contributes to variations in crime, policing, and the overall justice system.
Provides an introduction to and an overview of the operation of the American criminal justice system. It is divided into five sections covering the purposes and functions of the system, its problems and priorities, and its main institution police and policing, prosecution and sentencing, and community and institutional corrections..
Offers a comprehensive examination of crimes as public policy subjects. Much of the scholarly literature and principal books on criminal justice and crime control policy take the operations of the criminal justice system, the causes of crime and delinquency, theories about crime and justice, and crime prevention as the central topics for study and policy analysis.
Routledge Handbook on Native American Justice Issues is an authoritative volume that provides an overview of the state of American Indigenous populations and their contact with justice concerns and the criminal justice system. The volume covers the history and origins of Indian Country in America; continuing controversies regarding treaties; unique issues surrounding tribal law enforcement; the operation of tribal courts and corrections, including the influence of Indigenous restorative justice practices; the impact of native religions and customs; youth justice issues, including educational practices and gaps; women’s justice issues; and special circumstances surrounding healthcare for Indians, including the role substance abuse plays in contributing to criminal justice problems
This comprehensive encyclopedia explores abuse in all its forms—physical, sexual, emotional, and verbal—among a variety of age and demographic groups from children to the elderly to the disabled. It sheds light on causes and symptoms of abuse, examines lasting impacts, and suggests avenues for prevention and treatment.
This important work includes over three hundred state-of-the-art chapters, with articles covering crime-solving techniques such as autopsies, ballistics, fingerprinting, hair and fiber analysis, and the sophisticated procedures associated with terrorism investigations, forensic chemistry, DNA, and immunoassays.
This illustrated encyclopedia traces the fascinating stories of spies, intelligence, and counterintelligence throughout history, both internationally and in the United States. Written specifically for students and general readers by scholars, former intelligence officers, and other experts, Encyclopedia of Intelligence and Counterintelligence provides a unique background perspective for viewing history and current events.
This encyclopedia focuses on rape in contemporary society. Different categories of rape and sexual assault are examined both in the United States and globally. Though underreported, the data that are available clearly indicate that sexual violence is a global problem that affects not only women, but men and children, too.
The third edition combines history and current events. At issue are fundamental questions of constitutional law and the rights of individuals, opportunities for self-protection, and the control of violence and national security.
Highlighting a breadth of American individuals and groups that have engaged in extremist behaviour across history, this book provides a succinct and concise overview of extremist behaviour in the past and examines the increasingly common incidences of hate and extremism in our country today.
Case briefing is a long-used method of studying law. Its purpose is to have students identify the rules of law found in court cases and analyze how courts apply these rules of law to the facts of a case in an objective and rational manner. Case briefing hones analytic skills and heightens understanding of the role of courts in defining, interpreting, and applying law. From Hudson Valley Community College.
This section will describe the parts of a brief in order to give you an idea about what a brief is, what is helpful to include in a brief, and what purpose it serves.
Health, mental health and substance abuse problems often are more apparent in jails and prisons than in the community. Incarcerated men and women are often diagnosed with health, mental health, and substance abuse problems after receiving care from a correctional health provider.
Our agency was established in 1930 to provide more progressive and humane care for federal inmates, to professionalize the prison service, and to ensure consistent and centralized administration of federal prisons.
A collection of world trial transcripts and other critical court documents, as well as trial-related resources that analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials.
Full-text of historical and government documents in a searchable, image-based format. Includes law journals and historical collections of U.S. federal government documents. Coverage: 1925 - present.
The Council strives to strengthen the United States by shaping immigration policies and practices through innovative programs, cutting-edge research, and strategic legal and advocacy efforts grounded in evidence, compassion, justice and fairness.
Learn the steps for becoming a U.S. citizen including how to apply, sample test questions and what is the naturalization process. Also, find information on dual citizenship, how to get proof of your U.S. citizenship if you were born abroad or replace your lost or stolen citizenship certificate.
Learn about the most common types of visas for business, student or travel you may need when coming to or traveling through the United States, plus review what other documents you need to enter the U.S. Also, find information on how to apply for an immigrant visa.
The Federal office which is tasked to strengthen border security and prevent the illegal movement of people, goods, and funds into, within, and out of the United States. The agency's broad investigative authorities are directly related to our country's ongoing efforts to combat terrorism at home and abroad. See the statistics at the bottom of the pages.
The APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice consolidates and advances knowledge about the legal, scientific, and applied foundations of the juvenile justice system.
The Illinois Juvenile Justice Commission (the Commission) serves as the federally mandated State Advisory Group to the Governor, the General Assembly and the Illinois Department of Human Services. It responsible for administering federal juvenile justice grants, ensuring compliance with the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act, and advising the Governor and General Assembly on matters of juvenile justice.
Youth.gov is the U.S. government website that helps you create, maintain, and strengthen effective youth programs. Included are youth facts, funding information, and tools to help you assess community assets, generate maps of local and federal resources, search for evidence-based youth programs, and keep up-to-date on the latest, youth-related news.
The National Conference of State Legislatures, Criminal Justice Program tracks state legislative interests and actions on a wide range of topics that reflect the many aspects and functions of criminal justice systems.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Program
The Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974, Public Law 93–415, as amended, established the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) to support local and state efforts to prevent delinquency and improve the juvenile justice system.
The WPAY, adopted by the General Assembly in 1995, provides a policy framework and practical guidelines for national action and international support to improve the situation of young people around the world. The WPAY covers fifteen youth priority areas and contains proposals for action in each of these areas.
A guide to effective writing for the justice system teaches readers to write cogently and accurately across the spectrum of criminal justice-related disciplines. With an examination of common writing problems that interfere with good reporting and documentation, the book's content underscores the importance of skilled written communication as a cornerstone of competent practice within criminology. It provides examples of strong writing that demonstrate communication of cultural competency and help students develop critical thinking/writing skills.
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century.
Full-text articles on the coverage and analysis of US congressional legislation, includes how bills are changed, derailed, or ultimately passed during an annual session of Congress. Coverage: 1945 - present.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes congressional publications, Legislative Histories for public laws, testimony from congressional hearings, bill tracking and research reports from the Congressional Research Service and LRS.
Archive of public law from its early consideration to its enactment, including development that spans more than one Congress. Coverage: 1789 - present.
The central clearinghouse of ABA-related information and resources for attorneys, the legal profession and the public on a wealth of issues addressing bias, racism and prejudice in the justice system and society."
The Cato Institute is a public policy research organization — a think tank — dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets, and peace. Its scholars and analysts conduct independent, nonpartisan research on a wide range of policy issues.
The Crime Report (TCR) is the nation’s only comprehensive news service covering the diverse challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the U.S. and abroad. Staffed by working journalists in New York, Washington and Los Angeles, it is published daily through the year by the Center on Media, Crime and Justice at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York. TCR’s prizewinning coverage includes investigative reports by the some of the nation’s most accomplished reporters; analysis, blogs and commentary by leading criminologists, practitioners, law enforcement/corrections professionals, and legal experts; reports on new and cutting-edge research; and daily summaries of the most important criminal justice news, issues and developments covered by the national and international press.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
The Chicago Police Department is the law enforcement agency of the U.S. city of Chicago, Illinois, under the jurisdiction of the City Council. It is the second-largest municipal police department in the United States, behind the New York City Police Department. It has approximately 12,000 officers and over 1,925 other employees. Tracing its roots back to the year of 1835, the Chicago Police Department is one of the oldest modern police forces in the world.
The Circuit Court of Cook County of the State of Illinois is the largest of the 24 judicial circuits in Illinois and one of the largest unified court systems in the world. Their site gives court structure, procedures and statistics.
The FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy with the result of a safer nation. Use the CDE to discover available data through visualizations, download data in .csv format, and other large data files.
Archive of social science data for research and instruction in social sciences, education, health sciences, and business. Please login with your LUC email to download reports.
Data.gov is the central clearinghouse for federal open data, including hosting the Public Data Listing, state, local, and tribal government sources and local geospatial data.
Collection of Cook County statistics and data sources, including arrests, court cases, sentencing, child custody, and other activities involving the justice system.
IDOC provides data pertaining to incarcerated persons or persons on parole, including information about convictions, and demographic information. This dataset also contains information about women in the prison and parole system.
Find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps. Get information about the 2020 U.S. Census and learn how to respond.
Produces the data and methodologies to monitor trends at national and international levels. It delivers comparative data for countries at all stages of development to provide a global perspective on education, science and technology, culture, and communication.
Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).
A mapping, analytics, and data visualization app with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census back to 1980, and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing detailed information on over 20 million businesses. The premium MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset includes data on over 8,000 brands, hobbies, media habits, sports, psychographics, and MOSAIC market segments. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created.
Statistics, reports, infographics, and surveys on business, media, finance, politics and a wide variety of topics. Includes industry and consumer reports, market outlooks, and country reports. Coverage: focus is on current (not historical) statistics.
Crime statistics are available on the Industry Overview page under Society.
Data sets and statistical sources from the United States government covering American history, demographics, and census data.
Chat with Us
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Chat with My Library:
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline. Please email a librarian for assistance.
Chat services are not available on the following holidays: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, and July 4.
