Education Main Research Guide: Databases (Article Search)

Indexes nearly 1200 periodicals from 1907-1984 (including 240,000+ book reviews.) A wide range of interdisciplinary fields are covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals, as well as many important scientific journals.

Introduction to accessing the Education databases and searching for articles.

Basic searching in Education Research Complete.

Accessing or requesting full text articles in Education Research Complete.

Instructions on how to request an article through InterLibrary Loan.

How to combine databases in EBSCO.

As the research arm of the U.S. Department of Education, IES provides rigorous and relevant evidence on which to ground education practice and policy and shares this information broadly. By identifying what works, what doesn't, and why, they aim to improve educational outcomes for all students, particularly those at risk of failure.

The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) was established in 2002 as an initiative of the Institute for Education Sciences (IES) at the U.S. Department of Education. The WWC is administered by the National Center for Education Evaluation within IES. The WWC identifies studies that provide credible and reliable evidence of the effectiveness of a given practice, program, or policy (referred to as “interventions”), and disseminates summary information and reports on the WWC website. With over 700 publications available and more than 6,000 reviewed studies in the online searchable database, the WWC aims to inform researchers, educators, and policymakers as they work toward improving education for students.