Resouces during the COVID-19 crisis
- Reliable Resources for Teachers and Families on COVID-19Created by a friend and former Loyola employee, Anna Gentry Thompson, who is now a librarian in New Orleans.
- 200 Free Kids Educational Resources: Video Lessons, Apps, Books, Websites & MoreThis collection provides a list of free educational resources for K-12 students (kindergarten through high school students) and their parents and teachers.
- Audible - free audio booksAll stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.
- FREE JLG Digital Online reading platformBoth audio and ebooks are available for elementary, middle and high school readers!
- FREE Kids Educational Sites, Apps, Podcasts + YouTube ChannelsIf you and your kids are stuck inside, we've got an incredible list of free kids educational sites, apps, podcasts, YouTube channels, and free virtual field trips that will make the time just fly by.
- Free Online Learning at HomeSome of these sites are always free, while others have add-ons or are free for a certain time period.
- Free Online Summer CampsFor families who want to keep their children's education growing over the summer but are worried about being able to afford it, here are some completely free online summer camps to keep your child's mind active and continuously expanding their knowledge.
- Pandemics: Past & PresentA site for high school students to learn about how past pandemics changed society & how COVID-19 might change ours today.
- Scholastic Offers Free Online CoursesScholastic is offering free online courses so your kids can keep learning while schools are closed
- Virtual Summer CampsNeed something to keep your K-12 kids busy this summer? Help them make the most of their break with interactive camps taught by expert instructors. Each camp consists of five sessions, starting on Monday and ending on Friday.
Education Week
noteworthy
News from Loyola University Chicago Libraries.
Welcome to the Curriculum Research Guide
The curriculum guide is an overview of the print and electronic materials available to Education students in the teacher-training and graduate programs at Loyola. The print collection of curriculum materials (6th floor), education books (9th floor) and periodicals (6th and 8th floors) is housed in Lewis Library at the Water Tower Campus. The tabs at the top of the page, and described below, will help you find resources related to curriculum.
The Curriculum Collection tab links out to the Curriculum Collection at Lewis Library subject guide.
The Databases (Article Search) tab provides access to all the online databases and electronic resources related to curriculum.
The Curriculum Web Resources tab contains links to various websites related to curriculum.
The Award-winning books tab provides access to Loyola's databases for award-winning books, as well as websites of the various children's book awards.
The Biographies tab contains links to resources at Loyola that may be used for biographical information in curriculum.
The Reference Collection tab contains a list of print resources available in Lewis Library, and links to these resources in Pegasus.
The Lesson Plans tab contains links to various websites for online lesson plans and rubric creation.
The Multimedia tab contains links to audio and visual teaching resources on the web.
The Curriculum Organizations and News tab contains links to professional organizations, agencies, and news sources related to curriculum and education.
The Statistics tab contains links to a variety of statistical databases and other resources related to curriculum.
The STEM Resources tab contains links to a variety of STEM materials and other resources related to curriculum.
Most Used Education Resources
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles and conference papers covering education research from early childhood to higher education for all educational specialties. Coverage: 1880 - present.
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowArticle abstracts covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage: 1924 - present.
- ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and full text articles, reports, curriculum, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books. Coverage: 1966 - present.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on children's health and development, pedagogical theory and practice for educators, professional librarians, and education researchers. Coverage: 1930 - present.
Subject Guide
Liaison for the School of Education
Liaison for the departments of Psychology and Sociology
Interim liaison for the Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Lewis Library
Loyola University Chicago
25 E. Pearson #615
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6949 voice
312-915-6244 fax
truppman@luc.edu
Children's Book Centers
- The Center for Children's BooksThe Center for Children’s Books at the School of Information Sciences is a research center with additional interests in education and service. Our mission is to facilitate the creation and dissemination of exemplary and progressive research and scholarship related to youth-focused resources, literature, and librarianship.
- Children's Literature CenterThe Children's Literature Center assists users in gaining access to all children's materials dispersed throughout the Library. The Library of Congress holds between 500,000 and 600,000 children's books and periodicals including maps, visual and audio media and secondary material.
- Cooperative Children's Book CenterThe Cooperative Children’s Book Center (CCBC) is a unique examination, study and research library of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The CCBC’s noncirculating collections include current, retrospective and historical books published for children and young adults.