Subject Guide
Relevant News Sources
- CNN Election CenterCNN's collection of election related data.
- FiveThirtyEightA Blog edited by Nate Silver, uses advanced polling methodologies for political analysis.
- RealClearPolitics Polling CenterA selection of polling including national, local, electoral and approval.
ICPSR
- ICPSRAn archive of social science data for research and instruction in the social sciences, education, health sciences, and business. Read the information carefully before downloading data sets from ICPSR or placing requests with Research Computing.
- Roper Center This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of social sciences data sets and public opinion poll data with results. Coverage 1930 - present.
Political Polling and Survey Research
- American National Election Studies (ANES)The American National Election Studies produces data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists.
- Clerk of the House Election StatisticsSince 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories.
Statistics from recent elections are available in scanned image (Adobe Acrobat .PDF) format. Please note that printing a whole document may take a long time. - Pew Research CenterThe Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues.
- Pew Research Center for the People and the PressThis Center, one of Pew's eight, explores public attitudes about the credibility, social value and salience of the news media. There is frequent overlap into areas related and responding to political campaigning.
- PollsterPollster tracks, aggregates, and analyzes political polls. This independently published site also links to other polling and survey research groups, and provides a FAQ page explaining how political polling is done.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowCollection of US and international statistics Statistical Datasets. Allows users to compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Also includes descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Coverage: 1789 - present.