Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chicago Government Resources
City of Chicago Homepage
The City of Chicago's Official Homepage
City of Chicago Services Directory
The location for online city services. This includes sites for all online city services organized alphabetically.
City of Chicago Programs and Initiatives
Information about the different programs providing aid to various groups in Chicago.
City of Chicago Data Portal
The City of Chicago's Data Portal is dedicated to promoting access to government data and encouraging the development of creative tools to engage and serve Chicago's diverse community. The site hosts over 200 datasets presented in easy-to-use formats about City departments, services, facilities and performance.
Cook County Data Portal
The Open Data Portal for Cook County Government.
Chicago News Resources
Chicago Sun-Times 1986-current
Complete electronic full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded
Chicago Tribune (1985-current)
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Article and Encyclopedia Resources
Indexes journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
Encyclopedia of Chicago
The Encyclopedia of Chicago is a dynamic and unprecedented metropolitan history. Includes thousands of historical resources-including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers-related to Chicago's colorful and complex history.
Government Information Librarian