Library Databases

Loyola University Libraries Catalog: Search for books and articles..

Academic Search Complete: Features thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.

CQ Researcher: Covers a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Each report is divided into specific sections to guide research. Each report is on a single topic--more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.

Sociology Abstracts: Indexes journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies

Agriculture & Environmental Science Database: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies.

 

International and Governmental Sources

United Nations Environment Programme

U.S. Department of Agriculture

U.S. Department of Energy

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Think Tank Sources

The following resources may be helpful in evaluating and assessing think tanks.

Writing about think tanks and using their research: a cautionary tip sheet: An article from Journalist's Resource. Provides helpful tips about the critical questions to ask when drawing upon think tank research.

2018 Global Go To Think Tank Index: The Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program (TTCSP) works with leading scholars and practitioners from think tanks and universities in a variety of collaborative efforts and programs, and produces the annual Global Go To Think Tank Index that ranks the world’s leading think tanks in a variety of categories. This is achieved with the help of a panel of over 1,900 peer institutions and experts from the print and electronic media, academia, public and private donor institutions, and governments around the world. (Go to page 129 for top environmental policy think tanks.)

Think Tank Search: Search Think Tank documents using the Harvard Kennedy School of Government Think Tank Search

Newspaper Sources

Access World News: Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers.

New York Times Website: Loyola students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to NYTimes.com

News and Newspaper Sources:

Assessing News Sources

Society of Professional Journalists Code of Ethics outlines the values and practices contributing to reliable journalism. The Code of Ethics is organized around four topics.

• Seek Truth and Report It: Ethical journalism should be accurate and fair. Journalists should be honest and courageous in gathering, reporting and interpreting information.
• Be Accountable and Transparent: Ethical journalism means taking responsibility for one’s work and explaining one’s decisions to the public.
• Minimize harm: Ethical journalism treats sources, subjects, colleagues and members of the public as human beings deserving of respect.
• Act Independently: The highest and primary obligation of ethical journalism is to serve the public.

  Does a newspaper or news source abide by these principles and have its own ethics statement?

• Example: New York Times: Ethical Journalism: A Handbook of Values of Practices for News and Editorial Departments

IFLA How To Spot Fake News: The International Federation of Library Associations has a helpful guide and graphic for spotting fake news.

American Press Institute: Six Questions That Will Tell You What Media To Trust

1. Type: What type of content is this?

2. Source: Who and what are the sources cited and why should I believe them?

3. Evidence: What's the evidence and how was it vetted?

4. Interpretation: Is the main point of the piece proven by the evidence?

5. Completeness: What's missing?

6. Knowledge: Am I learning every day what I need?