General Government Information
These general research tools will help you locate individual records and in some cases links to online-accessible Government Information. Contact the Government Documents librarian for any needed assitance.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThe CGP is a finding tool for publications from all three branches of the U.S. government. Updated daily, it contains descriptive records for current and historical publications and provides direct links to those online.
- GPO: Monthly CatalogIncludes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.
- WorldCat Firstsearch This link opens in a new windowRecords of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
Current Affairs
Legislation
- CQ MagazinePremier source of information on government, politics and public policy. Each issue contains an unbiased, objective and comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week.
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryMaintained by the Naval Postgraduate School, this is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. Includes U.S. policy documents, legislation, presidential directives, and national strategy documents.
- ProQuest Congressional PublicationsComprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Find congressional publications and Legislative Histories for Public Laws from 1970 to the present. Find testimony from congressional hearings and track bills as they move through the House and Senate.
Agriculture and Environment
- USDA Economic Research ServiceEconomic Research Service (ERS) is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture. See 'Data Sets' for detailed, downloadable information.
- USDA Economics, Statistics and Marketing Information SystemHosted by Cornell University, the site contains nearly 300 reports and datasets from the economics agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowIndex of citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library for materials covering agriculture and related disciplines. Cited materials include journal articles, books, patents, technical reports, etc.
Education
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and full text articles, reports, curriculum, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books. Coverage: 1966 - present.
- ERICVia CSA.
Access to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. This version indicates if a periodical is peer reviewed.
- ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and full text articles, reports, curriculum, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books. Coverage: 1966 - present.
Geography
- The National AtlasThe National Atlas provides a map-making tool as well as many pre-formatted maps relating to United States politics, history and resource management.
- The National MapThe National Map provides high-quality, geospatial data and imagery to help support decisionmaking by resource managers and the public.
Labor and Workforce
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsThe Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookA resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.
Medicine and Science
- MedlineAn index to journals published internationally covering all aspects of medicine.
- National Institute on Drug AbuseNIDA is a Federal scientific research institute under the National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and the largest supporter of the world's research on drug abuse and addiction.
- National Library of MedicineThe National Library of Medicine (NLM) is the world's largest medical library. The Library collects materials and provides information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care.
- Science Reference ServicesFrom the Library of Congress, Science Reference Services is the principal location for research in the areas of science, technology, technical reports, and standards.
Military and Defense
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryMaintained by the Naval Postgraduate School, this the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. Includes U.S. policy documents, legislation, presidential directives, and national strategy documents.
- Military and Government CollectionProvides full text from over 320 military and general interest publications. Also offers indexing and abstracts for over 360 magazines. Some titles included are Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.
- Strategic Studies Institute of the U.S. Army War CollegeThe Strategic Studies Institute of the US Army War College publishes security and strategic reports and publications which serve to influence policy debate and bridge the gap between Military and Academia.
