Broad Research Tools
These databases are recommended for broader topical searching in Peace Studies. See center column resources for additional resources arranged by topic.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing in wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, political science, international studies, and multi-cultural issues.
- Dissertations and ThesesContains over 2.3 million dissertations and theses completed from around the world. Citations are available dating from 1861, with over 60,000 new citations added each year.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowElectronic full-text journals over a broad range of topics. Titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years.
- MLA International BibliographyThis citation-only database (meaning no full-text) focuses on languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, but contains materials useful in exploring an array of topics and fields.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
- Oxford Scholarship Online Books This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of full-text ebooks covering humanities, economics, and political sciences.
- Papers FirstProvides access to individual papers presented at conferences worldwide.
- Periodicals AbstractsIndexes general and academic journals, covering political science, current affairs, economics, business, women's studies and other areas.
- ProceedingsProvides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals covering literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Coverage: 1993 - present.
- Wilson SelectSelected full-text articles from Wilson's Business, Science and Social Sciences Abstracts, among others. Relevant subject areas include international trade, public administration, and economics.
- World Wide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
Anthropology, Race, and Culture
- Anthropologial PlusExtensive index of articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
- AnthroSourceCreated by the American Anthropological Association, this online resource provides access to all 29 journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the AAA, including complete archival holdings.
- Black Studies CenterCombines three invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender.
- eHRAF World CulturesContains more than a quarter of a million pages of full-text descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Indexed by culture and subject.
- Enclyopedia of Islam and the Muslim WorldExamines Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic CulturesSurveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, art, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, and so forth) of women in Islamic societies.
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesEdited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Over 5,000 entries are added annually.
United Nations
Because of the broad scope of its mission and the need to satisfy a global audience, the United Nations Web site is complicated and frustrating, at times, to navigate. Contact your librarian if you need any help making the most of these links.
For additional suggestions, see the International Organizations tab above.
- The United NationsThe UN's English language Web site. Note links to significant areas of interest in the header of the page.
- Documentation CentreSearch for UN resolutions and reports from the General Assembly, the Security Council, and other main bodies.
United States: Government Information
See the Subject Guide for Government Information for more specific and detailed links on researching Government sources.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThe CGP is a finding tool for publications from all three branches of the U.S. government. Updated daily, it contains descriptive records for current and historical publications and provides direct links to those online.
- GPO: Monthly CatalogIncludes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.
- Military and Government CollectionProvides full text from over 320 military and general interest publications. Also offers indexing and abstracts for over 360 magazines. Some titles included are Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.
- WorldCat Firstsearch This link opens in a new windowRecords of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
United States: Legislation
- CQ MagazinePremier source of information on government, politics and public policy. Each issue contains an unbiased, objective and comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week.
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryMaintained by the Naval Postgraduate School, this the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. Includes U.S. policy documents, legislation, presidential directives, and national strategy documents.
- ProQuest Congressional PublicationsComprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Find congressional publications and Legislative Histories for Public Laws from 1970 to the present. Find testimony from congressional hearings and track bills as they move through the House and Senate.
- Major Acts of CongressAn encyclopedia of congressional acts from the earliest days of the American republic through to recent years.
