Research Guides: Theology and Religious Studies: Online Text Collections

In theology and religious studies, a primary source is an original work while secondary source is an analysis, contextualization, critique, or reflection on that work.

Find primary source text and document collections organized by period as follows:

Classical (through 600)
Medieval (600 to 1500)
Early Modern (1500 to 1800)
Modern (1800 forward)

These are followed by a box listing secondary source text and document collections.

Text and Document Collections

Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature This link opens in a new window
Full-text corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe, including texts by St. Patrick, Augustinus Hibernicus, Columbanus, Sedulius Scottus, John Scottus Eriugena, and Peter Abelard. Limited to three simultaneous users.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Full-text works in Latin. Coverage: 240 BC - 1965.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text Greek and Latin classical texts with English translations formatted as ebooks.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
USERS MUST REGISTER FIRST IN ORDER TO ACCESS TLG FULL CORPUS.

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and hanbooks covering theology, religion and history. Includes the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum and examines the lives of saints according to each saint's feast day. Coverage: 1643 - 1940.
Aristoteles Latinus Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text medieval translations of the works of Aristotle.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Full-text books and other publications on topics in theology and religion. Coverage: 1200 - 1923

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Contains Christian texts held in the public domain.

Corpus Thomisticum This link opens in a new window
Full-text works of Thomas Aquinas and associated bibliographies covering studies of his works.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Full-text works in Latin. Coverage: 240 BC - 1965.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text Greek and Latin classical texts with English translations formatted as ebooks.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources covering Medieval studies, history, philosophy, theology, and literature from Germany, Austria and Switzerland in the Middle Ages.

Papal Encyclicals

Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources from philosophical writing, including works by Aquinas , Augustine, Dewey, Hegel, Nietzsche, Peirce, Plato, Wittgenstein, and others.
Patrologia Graecae This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary source Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Full-text first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina published between 1844-1855, including the work of the church fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocence III in 1216. Limited to 25 simultaneous users.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
USERS MUST REGISTER FIRST IN ORDER TO ACCESS TLG FULL CORPUS.

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and hanbooks covering theology, religion and history. Includes the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum and examines the lives of saints according to each saint's feast day. Coverage: 1643 - 1940.
ARTFL This link opens in a new window
Full-text French-language resources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Coverage: 12th – 20th century.
A cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago. Contains the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Full-text books and other publications on topics in theology and religion. Coverage: 1200 - 1923

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Contains Christian texts held in the public domain.

Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources related to the Catholic Reformation before, during, and after the landmark decrees of the Council of Trent.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources related to theology and religion. Includes seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. Coverage: 1500s - 1700s.
Early American Imprints This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources about life in 17th and 18th century America. Coverage: 1639 - 1819.
Eighteenth Century Collection Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Full-text British and American primary sources from the 18th century on history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, and more. Coverage: 1700s.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Full-text works in Latin. Coverage: 240 BC - 1965.

Papal Encyclicals

Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources from philosophical writing, including works by Aquinas , Augustine, Dewey, Hegel, Nietzsche, Peirce, Plato, Wittgenstein, and others.

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
Full-text French-language resources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Coverage: 12th – 20th century.
A cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago. Contains the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Full-text books and other publications on topics in theology and religion. Coverage: 1200 - 1923
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Full-text works in Latin. Coverage: 240 BC - 1965.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources covering history and literature from the 19th century. Coverage: 1773 - 1900.

Papal Encyclicals

Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources from philosophical writing, including works by Aquinas , Augustine, Dewey, Hegel, Nietzsche, Peirce, Plato, Wittgenstein, and others.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume I, Christianity This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary sources by religious thinkers worldwide, most from Christian traditions. Coverage: 1900s - 21st century.

Secondary Sources

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window
Includes titles relevant to theological and religious studies.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture, all of which provide thematic essays.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Includes The Cambridge History of the Bible, Christianity, Islam, and Judaism.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, and Religion This link opens in a new window
Presents the print handbooks digitally with added and updated content.
Offers introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Theology and Religious Studies

Text and Document Collections

Secondary Sources