Judaism-focused Resources
These Judaism-focused resources should be supplemented with those listed in the other sections of this Research Guide in order to thoroughly search for information on a topic.
- RAMBI(Note link to English language interface in upper left corner.) Indexes journal articles in Jewish studies; use our catalog to determine whether a cited item is available here or requires interlibrary loan.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts and limited full-text articles and books covering the Old Testament, including theology, biblical studies, and the Christian religion. Coverage: 1985 - present.
- SefariaContains Jewish texts, translations, and commentaries in Hebrew and in translation.
Encyclopaedia Judaica by Call Number: Online & DS102.8 .E496 2007ISBN: 9780028660974Publication Date: 2006-12-01Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0192800884Publication Date: 1999This highly readable guide to Judaism contains a wealth of information on every aspect of Jewish belief and practice, both ancient and modern. From Maimonides to Methuselah, Kabbalah to Kibbutz, Louis Jacobs provides an invaluable source of information for anyone wanting to learn more aboutthe rich and diverse heritage of the Jewish religion.* Entries range from personalities in the Bible to present-day Jewish thinkers and writers* Includes customs, traditions, and Jewish ideas on subjects as diverse as dance, vegetarianism, and eternity* All Hebrew terms are fully explained in non-technical language* Appendices include a bibliography, the Jewish calendar, and a chronology
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780199730049Publication Date: 2011-03-14The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion has been the go-to resource for students, scholars, and researchers in Judaic Studies since its 1997 publication. Now, The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion, Second Edition focuses on recent and changing rituals in the Jewish community that have come to the fore since the 1997 publication of the First Edition, including the growing trend of baby-naming ceremonies and the founding of gay/lesbian synagogues.
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics (4 Vols. ) by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789004176423Publication Date: 2013-08-09In a four-volume set, complete with an index, the Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.
View the Hebrew scripture alongside its English translation using this online interlinear; interlinear bibles are also available in the library's print collection.
Music and audio recordings are available in the Dartmouth Jewish Sound Archive and the Judaic Sound Archives, both of which seek to preserve the Jewish history and culture through sound.
- Jewish Virtual Library Formerly known as JSOURCE, this is a division of the American-Israeli Cooperative (AICE). This web site is "the most comprehensive online Jewish encyclopedia in the world."
- Torah.org Includes Torah Portion, Jewish Law, Ethics, Texts, Seasons, Features, and other topics.
- Hebrew Theological College, Saul Silber Memorial Library The Library is well known among Judaic scholars throughout the world. The 65,000 item collection includes current and historic Judaica and Hebraica books, Hebrew manuscripts, microforms, video and audio tapes. Strong collections include Halacha, Bible, Talmud literature, rabbinics, Jewish history, and Jewish philosophy. The computer catalog has over 30,500 items.
- Academic Jewish Studies Internet Directory This is the prime gateway to high quality resources for the study of Judaism, including access to online library catalogs and to databases like "RAMBI - Index of Articles in Jewish Studies".
Local Special Collections
Loyola has a reciprocal borrowing agreement with Saul Silber Memorial Library at Hebrew Theological Seminary that allows students and faculty to use their Loyola ID to check out materials.
The Asher Library in the Spertus Institute welcomes visiting researchers.
- Spertus Institute of Jewish Studies: Asher Library The Asher Library contains more than 105,000 books, 550 current periodical subscriptions from around the world, over 1,000 Jewish-interest feature films and documentaries, thousands of sound recordings and sheet music, and an extensive collection of full-text online resources.
Soncino Classics CD-ROM for Study of Jewish Texts
Soncino Classics Collection is a research tool on CD-ROM that will aid your study of primary texts including the Talmud, Midrash, and Zohar.
View this resource's catalog record for its location and call number.
The CD-ROM must be installed each time it is used on a campus computer
- Install the blue and white CD (rather than the blue and silver one).
- Go to drive E: on the computer you are using.
- Double click on Judaica Classics Library.msi near the bottom of the file list.
- Go to Start and select Programs.
- Select the Judaica Classics Library icon.