Skip to Main Content

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Theology and Religious Studies

Locate core research resources in theology, religious studies, Biblical studies, and ethics

Style Handbooks and Manuals

Copies of each of these texts are available on each floor of the Information Commons and on reserve in Cudahy Library:

The library also provides The Chicago Manual of Style as an ebook.

Chicago style's Notes and Bibliography format prescribes footnotes/endnotes and a bibliography. The Author-Date format prescribes in-text citations and, at the end of the paper, a list of references or works cited.

An open access Chicago style quick guide helps with the basics, for papers styled using the Notes and Bibliography system and papers styled using the Author-Date system.

The library's ebook collection includes several recent and classic titles on grammar and writing style:

Citing Scripture

All of the major citation styles employ special formats for citing the Bible; this summary provides guidelines and examples.

Also consider accessing and downloading the ebook edition of the SBL Handbook of Style (2014). 

Citation Management with EndNote and Zotero

EndNote

EndNote is a reference management tool to help you stay organized while you research and write papers, reports, book chapters, capstone projects, theses, dissertations, and much more.

EndNote can help you:

  • store all of your references and citations in one place
  • download citations directly from the library catalog and other library databases
  • organize your references into groups
  • create a bibliography or works cited formatted for APA, MLA, Chicago Manual of Style, and many other styles
  • share references with colleagues and research partners

Zotero

Zotero, an open source citation management system, helps researchers collect, organize, cite, and share their research. Graduate-level researchers working on related themes make best use of citation management when they start early and integrate their citation management system into their research practices and habits. Concentrate on developing and maintaining a library of useful sources; the researcher who does has a rich resource of existing source material at the outset of new projects and it will continue to grow thereafter.

Use Zotero to maintain bibliographies from classes and seminars in order to compile them into reading lists for comprehensive exams or for other future uses. Journal articles, websites, videos, and other sources can be saved to your Zotero library.

The citations you save in Zotero belong to you, allowing you to easily transition your academic work at Loyola University Chicago to another university or setting.