Fun Stuff
Chemistry 1976 issue U.S. stamp
- Everyday Mysteries: ChemistryFun Science Facts from the Library of Congress
Open image in new tab to see full size
- Compound InterestCompound Interest takes a closer look at the chemical compounds we come across on a day-to-day basis, explaining them with easy-to-understand graphics.
Online Resources
- ChemExper Chemical DirectoryThis directory displays information about chemicals (physical and chemical characteristics, structure, MSDS and more). The ChemExper Chemical Directory contains for now over 200,000 different chemicals, 10,000 MSDS and over 10,000 IR spectra.
- ChemFinderA comprehensive directory and search engine for chemical and related industry professionals. This database consist of chemical industry related entities like Research & industrial chemicals, ChemInfoBase, MSDS Database and Company directory.
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 120 million structures, along with properties and associated information.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookThe NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors.
- Organic SynthesesSince 1921, Organic Syntheses has provided the chemistry community with detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
- Sigma-Aldrich CatalogChemical catalog with spectra, physical properties, MSDS, and other information. Sigma-Aldrich is a commercial chemical producers catalog that contains a large amount of freely available information about thousands of common chemicals.
Open Access
- NOVANOVA is the most popular primetime science series on American television, demystifying the scientific and technological concepts that shape and define our lives, our planet, and our universe.
- Science.govScience.gov is an official website of the U.S. government providing ready access to the massive stores of federally funded scientific research results, without needing to know which agency funded the research.
- Smithsonian Open AccessAccess to more than 4.9 million 2D and 3D digital items from Smithsonian collections. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 21 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.