Reference List:

In Text Citation:

For more examples of citations of other types of magazine articles, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

Reference List:

In Text Citation:

For more examples of citations of other types of magazine articles, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

Reference List:

In Text Citation:

For more examples of citations of other types of newspaper articles, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

• If you found your newspaper source in a library database, it is preferred to use the permalink or stable URL at the end of the citation.
  • If one is not available, use the name of the database (i.e. ProQuest Historical Newspapers).

Reference List:

In Text Citation:

NOTE:

• If the location of the publisher is not a well-known city (such as the capital of the state or a major city like New York or Chicago), include the abbreviation of the state as well.
  • Example: Durham, NC:

Reference List:

In Text Citation:

For more examples of citations of other types of books, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

• If the location of the publisher is not a well-known city (such as the capital of the state or a major city like New York or Chicago), include the abbreviation of the state as well.
  • Example: Durham, NC:

Reference List:

In Text Citation:

For more examples of citations of other types of books, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

• If the location of the publisher is not a well-known city (such as the capital of the state or a major city like New York or Chicago), include the abbreviation of the state as well.
  • Example: Durham, NC:
• If a work includes individual, unique titles or authors for each volume, it is usually best to cite each volume in the reference list individually rather than as a whole.
• If volumes are not individually titled, list each volume that you cite in the reference list (i.e. Vols. 1 and 4)

Reference List:

In Text Citation:

For more examples of citations of other types of books, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

• If you've consulted the paper online, include a DOI/Permalink/URL (if available).

Reference List:

In Text Citation:

For more examples of citations of other types of papers, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

• Although a URL is preferred, you can instead give the name of the database consulted if the URL is not available.

• Since many eBook formats lack fixed page numbers, avoid citing screen or location numbers specific to a certain app or device.

  • ​Instead, cite by chapter or section number or by the name of the chapter or section. 

Reference List:

In Text Citation:

For more examples of citations of other types of eBooks, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

• Articles from news websites can usually be cited like articles in newspapers--see the citations for articles in a newspaper.
• For sources that are frequently updated (like a wiki), record a time stamp if the source includes one (i.e. "last modified August 12, 2017).
• If no publication date can be found, use "n.d." and include an access date (i.e. "Accessed October 2, 2018).

Reference List:

In Text Citation:

For more examples of citations of other types of web content, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

• Articles from news websites can usually be cited like articles in newspapers--see the citations for articles in a newspaper.
• Include the owner/sponsor of the site if it is not the same as the title of the page or site.
• For sources that are frequently updated (like a wiki), record a time stamp if the source includes one (i.e. "last modified August 12, 2017).
• You can repeat the publication year with the month and day in the reference list to avoid any confusion regarding the exact date.

Reference List:

In Text Citation:

For more examples of citations of other types of web content, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

• In place of a title, use the text of the post. Quote up to the first 160 characters.
• Because social media is subject to editing and deletion, it is a good idea to keep a copy of anything you cite (like a screenshot of the tweet or image).
• Social media is often cited only within the text of the paper.
  • A corresponding reference list entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. 

NOTE:

• In place of a title, use the text of the post. Quote up to the first 160 characters.
• Because social media is subject to editing and deletion, it is a good idea to keep a copy of anything you cite (like a screenshot of the tweet or image).
• Social media is often cited only within the text of the paper.
  • A corresponding reference list entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. 

NOTE:

• This section includes citations for videos other than movies or television programs. For examples of those types of citations, see their sections of Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations:
  • Movies: section 19.10.3.1
  • Television programs: section 19.10.3.2
• Citations of videos and podcasts can normally be limited to the notes or woven into the text.
  • However, if the source is critical to your paper or frequently cited, you may include it in your bibliography.

NOTE:

• Cite paintings, sculptures, photographs, print advertisements, maps, cartoons, and so forth only in the in-text citations or weaved into the text.
• For works without a date, include the date you accessed the work.
• Whenever possible, consult the items through the website of the institution at which the item is physically located.
• Include the type of graphic in parentheses if unclear from the title or caption.

Two Authors:

Reference List:

• Author A Last Name, First Name [Middle Initial], and Author B First Name Last Name
• Example: Foner, Eric and John A. Garraty

In-Text Citation:

• (Author A Last Name and Author B Last Name)
• Example: (Foner and Garraty)

Three Authors:

Reference List:

• Author A Last Name, First Name [Middle Initial], Author B First Name Last Name, and Author C First Name Last Name
• Example: Soss, Joe, Jacob S. Hacker, and Suzanne Mettler

In-Text Citation:

• (Author A Last Name, Author B Last Name, and Author C Last Name)
• Example: (Soss, Hacker, and Mettler)

Four or More Authors:

Reference List:

• List all of the authors
• Author A Last Name, First Name [Middle Initial], Author B First Name Last Name, Author C First Name Last Name, Author D First Name Last Name
• Example: Bernstein Jay M., Roger Bertowitz, Jeffrey Katz, and Thomas Keenan.

In-Text Citation:

• List only the first author followed by "et al."
• (Author A Last Name et al.)
• Example: (Berstein et al.)

NOTE:

• Alphabetize a source with no named author in the bibliography by the title of the source
• Use the first word after an article like "a" or "the"

Book:

Reference List:

• Firefly Guide to Fossils.

In-Text Citation:

• (Firefly Guide to Fossils 2014)

Article:

Reference List:

• "Peruvian Tai Chi Master Spreads Martial Arts in Latin America."

In-Text Citation:

• ("Peruvian Tai Chi Master Spreads Martial Arts in Latin America" 2002)

Reference List:

• After the first instance of an author with multiple works, replace the author or editor's name with a long dash.

• Last Name, First Name. Title.

---. Title.

• Example: Foner, Eric. The Fiery Trail: Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery.​

---. A House Divided: America in the Age of Lincoln.

• Some faculty recommend use of "ibid" (Latin for "the same") to shorten a footnote to a work cited in the immediately preceding note.
• Example: 11. Smith, History Matters, 89.

12. Ibid, 90.

13. Ibid.

(In Footnote #13, the cited material is also found on page 90.)