Research Guides: Citing Sources: Notes & Bibliography Style

Notes & Bibliography or Author-Date Style?

Turabian is a simplified version of Chicago Style created by Kate Larimore Turabian for students and researchers.
Source citations in Turabian come in two varieties: (1) notes and bibliography (or simply notes) and (2) author-date.
- They are the same ones presented in The Chicago Manual of Style and are very similar aside from the way they cite sources in the text.
- If you aren't sure which variety to use, read the descriptions of the styles below and ask your instructor.

Notes & Bibliography:

Popular in the humanities (literature, history, and the arts).
Sources are cited in numbered footnotes or endnotes.
- Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text.
Sources are also listed in a separate bibliography.
Flexible and can easily accommodate a wide variety of sources.

Author-Date:

Common in the physical, natural, and social sciences.
Sources are briefly cited in the text (usually in parentheses) by last name and year of publication.
- Each citation in the text matches up with an entry in a reference list, where full bibliographic information is provided.

Articles

For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database.
Many articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser's address bar.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

For more examples of citations of other types of journal articles, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

For more examples of citations of other types of magazine articles, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

For more examples of citations of other types of newspaper articles, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Books

NOTE:

If the location of the publisher is not a well-known city (such as the capital of the state or a major city like New York or Chicago), include the abbreviation of the state as well.
- Example: Durham, NC:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

For more examples of citations of other types of books, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

If the location of the publisher is not a well-known city (such as the capital of the state or a major city like New York or Chicago), include the abbreviation of the state as well.
- Example: Durham, NC:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

NOTE:

If the location of the publisher is not a well-known city (such as the capital of the state or a major city like New York or Chicago), include the abbreviation of the state as well.
- Example: Durham, NC:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

NOTE:

If the location of the publisher is not a well-known city (such as the capital of the state or a major city like New York or Chicago), include the abbreviation of the state as well.
- Example: Durham, NC:
If the work includes individual, unique volume titles or volume editors, it is usually best to cite the volumes individually.

Individually Titled:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

NOTE:

If you've consulted the paper online, include a DOI/Permalink/URL (if available).

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

For more examples of citations of other types of papers, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

Since many eBook formats lack fixed page numbers, avoid citing screen or location numbers specific to a certain app or device.
- Instead, cite by chapter or section number or by the name of the chapter or section.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

For more examples of citations of other types of ebooks, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

Since many eBook formats lack fixed page numbers, avoid citing screen or location numbers specific to a certain app or device.
- Instead, cite by chapter or section number or by the name of the chapter or section.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Web Pages

NOTE:

Articles from news websites can usually be cited like articles in newspapers--see the citations for articles in a newspaper.
Include the owner/sponsor of the site if it is not the same as the title of the page or site.
For sources that are frequently updated (like a wiki), record a time stamp if the source includes one (i.e. "last modified August 12, 2017).
Cite website content in the notes, but only include a specific item in the bibliography if it is critical to your argument or if it is frequently cited.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

For more examples of citations of other types of web content, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

Articles from news websites can usually be cited like articles in newspapers--see the citations for articles in a newspaper.
For sources that are frequently updated (like a wiki), record a time stamp if the source includes one (i.e. "last modified August 12, 2017).
Cite website content in the notes, but only include a specific item in the bibliography if it is critical to your argument or if it is frequently cited.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

NOTE:

Articles from news websites can usually be cited like articles in newspapers--see the citations for articles in a newspaper.
Include the owner/sponsor of the site if it is not the same as the title of the page or site.
For sources that are frequently updated (like a wiki), record a time stamp if the source includes one (i.e. "last modified August 12, 2017).
Cite website content in the notes, but only include a specific item in the bibliography if it is critical to your argument or if it is frequently cited.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Media

NOTE:

In place of a title, use the text of the post. Quote up to the first 160 characters.
Because social media is subject to editing and deletion, it is a good idea to keep a copy of anything you cite (like a screenshot of the tweet or image).
Social media is often cited only within the text of the paper.
- A corresponding bibliography entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

NOTE:

In place of a title, use the text of the post. Quote up to the first 160 characters.
Because social media is subject to editing and deletion, it is a good idea to keep a copy of anything you cite (like a screenshot of the tweet or image).
Social media is often cited only within the text of the paper.
- A corresponding bibliography entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

NOTE:

In place of a title, use the text of the post. Quote up to the first 160 characters.
Because social media is subject to editing and deletion, it is a good idea to keep a copy of anything you cite (like a screenshot of the tweet or image).
Social media is often cited only within the text of the paper.
- A corresponding bibliography entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

NOTE:

This section includes citations for videos other than movies or television programs. For examples of those types of citations, see their sections of Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations:
- Movies: section 17.10.3.1
- Television programs: section 17.10.3.2
Citations of videos and podcasts can normally be limited to the notes or woven into the text.
- However, if the source is critical to your paper or frequently cited, you may include it in your bibliography.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

For more examples of citations of other types of multimedia and vidoes, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

NOTE:

Cite paintings, sculptures, photographs, print advertisements, maps, cartoons, and so forth only in the notes or weaved into the text.
For works without a date, include the date you accessed the work.
Whenever possible, consult the items through the website of the institution at which the item is physically located.
Include the type of graphic in parentheses if unclear from the title or caption.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

For more examples of citations of other types of artwork and graphics, see The Chicago Manual of Style; Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations; Purdue OWL's Chicago Style Guide, or the Chicago Turabian Style website.

Quoted in Another Source

NOTE:

"Responsible researchers avoid repeating quotations that they have not actually seen in the original...readers expect you to obtain the original th verify not only that the quotation is accurate but also that it fairly represents what the original meant."
If the original source is unavailable, cite it as "quoted in" the secondary source in your note.
For the bibliography, adapt the "quoted in" format as needed.

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Authors

Bibliography:

Last name, First name [Middle Initial].
Example: Bernstein, Jay M.

First Note:

First Name [Middle Initial] Last Name.
Example: Jay M. Bernstein

Shortened Note:

Bernstein

Two Authors:

Bibliography:

Author A Last Name, First Name [Middle Initial], and Author B First Name Last Name.
Example: Foner, Eric, and John A. Garraty.

First Note:

Author A First Name [Middle Initial] Last Name and Author B First Name Last Name
Example: Eric Foner, and John A. Garraty

Shortened Note:

Author A Last Name and Author B Last Name
Example: Foner and Garraty

Three Authors:

Bibliography:

Author A Last Name, First Name [Middle Initial], Author B First Name Last Name, and Author C First Name Last Name.
Example: Soss, Joe, Jacob S. Hacker, and Suzanne Mettler

First Note:

Author A First Name [Middle Initial] Last Name and Author B First Name Last Name
Example: Joe Soss, Jacob S. Hacker, and Suzanne Mettler

Shortened Note:

Author A Last Name and Author B Last Name
Example: Soss, Hacker, and Mettler

Four or More Authors:

Bibliography:

List all of the authors
Author A Last Name, First Name [Middle Initial], Author B First Name Last Name, Author C First Name Last Name, Author D First Name Last Name
Example: Bernstein, Jay M., Roger Berkowitz, Jeffrey Katz, and Thomas Keenan.

First Note:

List only the first author followed by "et al."
Author A First name [Middle Initial] Last Name et al.
Example: Jay N. Bernstein et al.

Shortened Note:

List only the first author followed by "et al."
Author A Last Name et al.
Example: Bernstein et al.

NOTE:

Alphabetize a source with no named author in the bibliography by the title of the source
Use the first word after an article like "a" or "the"

Book:

Bibliography:

Firefly Guide to Fossils.

Notes:

Firefly Guide to Fossils,

Article:

Bibliography:

""Peruvian Tai Chi Master Spreads Martial Arts in Latin America."

Notes:

"Peruvian Tai Chi Master Spreads Martial Arts in Latin America,"

Bibliography:

After the first instance of an author with multiple works, replace the author or editor's name with a long dash.
Last Name, First Name. Title.

---. Title.

Example: Foner, Eric. The Fiery Trail: Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery.

---. A House Divided: America in the Age of Lincoln.

Some faculty recommend use of "ibid" (Latin for "the same") to shorten a footnote to a work cited in the immediately preceding note.
Example: 11. Smith, History Matters, 89.

12. Ibid, 90.

13. Ibid.

(In Footnote #13, the cited material is also found on page 90.)

Note

The various examples used on this guide are adapted from either Purdue OWL, NWMSU's Turabian Style Citation Examples guide, Fairfield University DiMenna-Nyselius Library Chicago Citation Guides, or the Turabian Citation Quick Guide.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Citing Sources

Notes & Bibliography or Author-Date Style?

Articles

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Books

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Individually Titled:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Ebooks

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Web Pages

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Media

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Quoted in Another Source

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Authors

Bibliography:

First Note:

Shortened Note:

Two Authors:

Bibliography:

First Note: