Citing Ancient Sources
Primary sources in classics are cited uniquely. Refer to guidelines from the Department of Classics at Haverford College for an introduction.
Style Handbooks and Manuals
Copies of each of these texts are available on each floor of the Information Commons and on reserve in Cudahy Library:
The library also provides The Chicago Manual of Style as an ebook.
Chicago style's Notes and Bibliography format prescribes footnotes/endnotes and a bibliography. The Author-Date format prescribes in-text citations and, at the end of the paper, a list of references or works cited.
An open access Chicago style quick guide helps with the basics, for papers styled using the Notes and Bibliography system and papers styled using the Author-Date system.
The library's ebook collection includes several recent and classic titles on grammar and writing style:
- Strunk and White's Elements of StyleA classic, first published in 1959.
- Oxford Modern English GrammarA definitive guide to American English.
- Woe Is I: The Grammarphobe's Guide to Plain EnglishGrammar for modern writers and readers.
Citation Management with Zotero
Zotero, an open source citation management system, helps researchers collect, organize, cite, and share their research. Graduate-level researchers and above, as well as undergraduates anticipating work on related themes all make best use of citation management when they start early and integrate their citation management system into their research practices and habits. Concentrate on developing and maintaining a library of one's prospective sources and past-used ones; the researcher who dies has a rich resource of existing source material at the outset of new projects and it will continue to grow thereafter.
University Libraries provides RefWorks, a Zotero competitor. Current RefWorks users and those who want to consider it before adopting Zotero may write to me with questions. RefWorks has created a series of short tutorials to help you get started and learn more advanced features.
- Zotero Quick Start GuideEssential information and how-to videos created by Zotero for new users.
- Zotero Tutorial LibraryCollected and topically-organized tutorials created by actual users to help others; selected for inclusion here by Zotero.
Info
A quick overview of the set-up steps you should take:
- Create a free Zotero.org account.
- Install Zotero
- Link your account to your Zotero instance
- Get started!
- Don't forget about Zotero's collaboration and group collection features.
- Zotero: Quick Start GuideHow to download Zotero 5.0. Handout
- Zotero.com The main homepage of Zotero.com
- Zotero Video Tutorials A variety of library teams, Zotero users, and other community members have produced video tutorials for Zotero, including general overviews and demonstrations of specific features. Note that many of the videos available on the internet were produced using older versions of Zotero, and the current Zotero interface and functionality may look very different from what is shown.
The Library has featured Zotero because users have found it easy to use, well-supported, and costs nothing (except the time to learn it). But not everyone likes Zotero –tastes and needs vary. Here are three alternative resources that may better meet your research needs:
- RefWorks RefWorks is a tool you can use to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents. Read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections. Using tools like "drag and drop" capability, "smart document recognition" and "Save To", upload documents, bibliographic metadata, and capture research from websites into your own personal research database which is saved on the web. Also use RefWorks to create simple bibliographies and papers formatted with in-text citations or footnotes.
- Easybib Add-in for Microsoft 365 Note that this is a add-in for Word and only functions inside of Word. The application will place an icon in Word, visible when you click on the References tab. You can search for sources and import a citation directly into your Word document. Supported styles are MLA7 and 8, APA, and Chicago. You can also find this add-in at the EasyBib site itself.
- EndNote Provided by Clarivate Analytics and Web of Science. The free version provides 2GB of free online storage and 50,000 maximum records. EbscoHOST databases (including QuickSearch) provide the ability to directly export your articles to EndNote.
- Mendeley Owned by Elsevier and there is a free basic version available, with 2GB storage. The basic version allows you to create and own one private account. If you create a private group for sharing work, a free account is limited to three members. The networking capability allows you to collaborate by sharing documents with others in your group.
It is ideal to use the computer/laptop and browser you plan to use for literature research.
Download
- Use Google Chrome or Firefox browser
- Go to the Zotero Download page
- The site will automatically detect your operating system (Win, Mac, Linux*) and browser.
- Zotero DOES NOT work with Chromebooks or Office 365
- Download Zotero 5.0 and browser Connector
Installation of Zotero
- Close any Microsoft Office programs (e.g. Word)
- Open the downloaded Zotero file (.exe or .dmg).
- Follow the installation directions
- Zotero and an MS Word add-in will be installed
- Open the Zotero program
- Open MS Word
- Notice the word Zotero on your toolbar.
Installation of Browser Connector (Add-on/extension)
- Install the Zotero Connector for your browser (best with Chrome or Firefox)
- Browser may restart after installation
- You'll notice a Zotero icon (a "Z" or a small rectangle) on the right side of your browser toolbar
This tool is separate from the Zotero software. ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It’s brought to you by the team behind Zotero, the powerful open-source research tool recommended by thousands of universities worldwide, so you can trust it to help you seamlessly add sources and produce perfect bibliographies. If you need to reuse sources across multiple projects or build a shared research library, we recommend using Zotero instead.
- Zotero BibliographyA free tool to help create a citation or a bibliography. Paste in a DOI, Title, or another important piece and citation is created.
