Research Guides: Classical Studies: Databases and Bibliographies

Databases provide information about journal articles as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings.

Annee Philologique, L' (Brepols) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals (and other materials) on all aspects of classical studies; updated annually but with a two-year delay.

Gnomon Bibliographic Database (GBD)
Indexes journals, books, and book chapters on all aspects of classical studies with new content added more rapidly than it appears in L'Annee Philologique. Opens to a German interface; use a link near the upper right corner to switch to an English interface.
Brill's New Pauly list of abbreviations for ancient authors and titles
Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
Covers anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly journals covering humanities and social sciences. Coverage: 1907 - 1984.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
LUC Library Catalog Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection. The advanced search provides filters and scopes to narrow your search results.

Records for dissertations and theses written at Loyola University Chicago are in our catalog and ecommons.

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index of dissertations and theses with abstracts and full-texts. Coverage: 1861-present.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

LUC eCommons: Classical Studies

Google Scholar

Set Loyola University Chicago as your library in Google Scholar and your results lists will include links to articles in our library's e-journal collections. Start at this settings page and search for Loyola in the text box. From the results list, choose Loyola University Chicago Libraries - Find it at Loyola and then click the blue save button near the bottom of the page.

Conduct a Google Scholar search and you will see the full text links on the right side of the results list.