Subject Librarian
Research Tools
The following research tools may be especially useful for this assignment:
This subscription-based research methods tool will allow you to explore different research methods through books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos. Within this resource you will find information on:
The Methods Map visualization tool reveals how different methods are related.
These resources point you to notable publications in the field. For example:
This database is the digital version of the print Annual Reviews series, a collection of critical reviews of primary-source research literature in over 50 academic disciplines.
Where are the books and journals?
The Loyola Library catalog includes a variety of resources, including books and print journals, but where do you locate the physical item in the library?
Cudahy Library, on the Lake Shore Campus, contains the print collections for women's studies and gender studies. You can find:
- Print journals on the lower level
- Reference materials on the first floor, in the reference collection (Stack Deck B)
- Books on the third floor
Loyola uses the Library of Congress classification system. Since women's studies and gender studies are interdisciplinary fields, you may find materials throughout the stacks in Cudahy, but many of the materials are located in Class H in the following call number ranges, if you would like to browse the stacks:
- H: Social sciences (general)
- HN: Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
- HQ: The family. Marriage. Women
- HT: Communities. Classes. Races
Use the "Find Books & E-Books" link below to easily access the catalog and start searching for books!
- Find Books & E-BooksUse the library's search to find books. Both physical and e-books will appear in your search results. You can use the facets to limit your results to only e-books or only books we physically have.
Use the "Find Journals" link below to easily access the catalog and start searching for journals!
-
Find JournalsUse the library's search to find journal titles, or use the sidebar on the left to browse journals by category.
Searching Beyond Loyola's Collection
Worldcat and other local institutions can also be searched for resources.
- WorldCat Firstsearch This link opens in a new windowRecords of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
- Additional SearchingCurrent Loyola students, faculty, and staff may borrow items directly from other institutions. View the information under the "Other Options" and "Other Catalogs" heading on the main search page here.