Skip to Main Content
Loyola University Chicago Logo
University Libraries

Language Learning

This guide for English Language Learning (ELL) is designed to help locate pertinent, accurate, and credible information at Loyola University Chicago Libraries (print, electronic, or other formats) and from the Internet at large.

Searching the Online Catalog

Use the Libraries' online catalog, to search for any item in the library collection. You can search through either the Basic Search or Advanced Search pages. Here are some tips for using the Basic Search:

Searching by Collection: It is important to choose what collection you want to search if you want to find books.

  • All Loyola Collections-includes material in both Books, Articles, Journals, DVD/Streaming Video
  • Books: This collection only includes materials from Loyola Libraries.
  • Articles and Journals- This Collection includes selected article databases.
  • DVD/Streaming Video: Includes DVDs and streaming videos from databases. 

Choosing Your Search Field: You can search by Keyword, Author or Title

  • Keyword-This searches for words everywhere in a book's record.
  • Author- This searches for the names of the authors or editors of materials.
  • Title- This searches for words within the title of the book or its chapters.

 

Reading Library of Congress Call Numbers

When you look up an item in the Catalog, find the call number so you can locate the item on the shelf. Like most academic libraries, Loyola uses Library of Congress call numbers.

Once you have the Library of Congress number, you need to find out which floor of the library that number is on. 

 

WorldCat

WorldCat is an online database that lets you search the catalogs of over 10,000 libraries. WorldCat is the largest bibliographic database in the world, so you should be able to find just about any book by searching here. Use WorldCat to search for books that we may not have at Loyola, and then request them through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service by which students, faculty, staff and administrators may request books and dissertations or journal articles not owned by any of the Loyola Libraries.  If the item you are looking for is not located in any of Loyola's databases or the Catalog, you can go to https://illiad.luc.edu/illiad/IAL/logon.html to login to ILLiad.  To fill out this form and place an interlibrary loan request you must log into your ILLiad account. If you do not have an ILLiad account you will need to register first.