This guide will introduce you to resources that are available to you, if at any point you are not sure where to find information, you can always contact me or use our Ask a Librarian chat.
National Science Foundation
This site highlights current National Science Foundation program areas and describes various awards and funding opportunities available for researchers. An overview of new funding opportunities and corresponding application deadlines are listed by discipline and are regularly updated. Current news releases related to specific projects and disciplines are also available.
NIST: Math and Computer Science Section
The Mathematical & Computational Sciences Division of the NIST, an agency of the U.S. Commerce Department's Technology Administration, focuses on solving scientific problems of interest to American industry through modern analytical and computational methods.
Statistics, reports, infographics, and surveys on business, media, finance, politics and a wide variety of topics. Includes industry and consumer reports, market outlooks, and country reports. Coverage: focus is on current (not historical) statistics.
Math Archives
List of useful links for mathematical history research
Wolfram Alpha
An online service that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from selected, externally sourced, data sets and research. Examples of questions relating to Math that can be asked can be found here: https://www.wolframalpha.com/examples/Math.html
Math and Statistics Databases
ICPSR Data Access
This link opens in a new windowArchive of social science data for research and instruction in social sciences, education, health sciences, and business. Please login with your LUC email to download reports.
IEEE Xplore
This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, ebooks, and conference preecedings covering computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields. Coverage: 1800s - present.
MathSciNet
This link opens in a new windowA searchable database providing access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940-present.
Safari Tech Books Online
This link opens in a new windowEbooks covering business, data, design, STEM, security, hardware & software development, system administration, and web & mobile design.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
Scopus
This link opens in a new windowIndex of scientific journals, books and conference proceedings focused on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Springer Link
This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text math and science journals.
Statista
This link opens in a new windowStatistics, reports, infographics, and surveys on business, media, finance, politics and a wide variety of topics. Includes industry and consumer reports, market outlooks, and country reports. Coverage: focus is on current (not historical) statistics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
This link opens in a new windowData sets and statistical sources from the United States government covering American history, demographics, and census data.
Web of Science
This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations. Coverage: 1980 - present. Limited to five simultaneous users.
A suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.
Index of citations of journals related to science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Coverage: 1990 - present.
