Protect, Serve, and Deport
by
Protect, Serve, and Deport exposes the on-the-ground workings of local immigration enforcement in Nashville, Tennessee. Between 2007 and 2012, Nashville's local jail participated in an immigration enforcement program called 287(g), which turned jail employees into immigration officers who identified over ten thousand removable immigrants for deportation. The vast majority of those identified for removal were not serious criminals but Latino residents arrested by local police for minor violations. Protect, Serve, and Deport explains how local politics, state laws, institutional policies, and police practices work together to deliver immigrants into an expanding federal deportation system, conveying powerful messages about race, citizenship, and belonging.
United States and Mexico
by
A Cost-Benefit Framework for Analyzing the Economic and Fiscal Impacts of State-Level Immigration Policies
by
Across a Hundred Mountains
by
Behold the Dreamers
by
Beyond the Narrow Gate
by
The Book of Unknown Americans
by
The Death of Josseline
by
The Gringo Champion
by
The Refugees
by
Sour Heart
by
Not sure where to start your research? The interdisciplinary databases are good places to search for information on any topic, and have lots of full-text material available.
American Gulag
by
Before September 11, 2001, few Americans had heard of immigration detention, but in fact a secret and repressive prison system run by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service has existed in this country for more than two decades. In American Gulag, prisoners, jailers, and whistle-blowing federal officials come forward to describe the frightening reality inside these INS facilities.
The Cultural Politics of US Immigration
by
Go home? the politics of immigration controversies
by
The 2013 Go Home vans marked a turning point in government-sponsored communication designed to demonstrate control and toughness on immigration. In this study, the authors explore the effects of this toughness: on policy, public debate, pro-migrant and anti-racist activism, and on the everyday lives of people in Britain. Bringing together an authorial team of eight respected social researchers, alongside the voices of community organisations, policy makers, migrants and citizens, and with an afterword by journalist Kiri Kankhwende, this is an important intervention in one of the most heated social issues of our time.
Immigrant Voices
by
Immigration
by
This book provides readers with an impartial understanding of the true state of immigration and immigration policy in the United States by refuting falsehoods, misinformation, and exaggerations surrounding this topic--and confirming the validity of other assertions"--ABC-CLIO website.
Immigration
by
Immigration is a topic on the minds of a large portion of Americans. In 2006, a series of large marches and political debates shook the nation to the core. With the 2008 presidential campaign under way, the controversy is alive and well. However, it is essential to approach it in an informed, balanced fashion, and the material presented in this volume is designed to accomplish the task. To what extent are immigrants from Mexico and Central America different from their predecessors from say Italy, Poland, and Finland?
Immigration and Migration
by
Volume 1: acculturation to knowledge workers -- Volume 2: Labor to xenophobia.
"Provides students with key data to understand the roots of the issues that make contemporary migration and immigration so contentious around the globe"--
Immigration Structures and Immigrant Lives
by
Journey into Europe
by
An unprecedented, richly detailed, and clear-eyed exploration of Islam in Europe and the place of Islam in European history and civilization.
Just Immigration
by
Few issues are as complex and controversial as immigration in the United States. The only thing anyone seems to agree on is that the system is broken. Mark Amstutz offers a succinct overview and assessment of current immigration policy and argues for an approach to the complex immigration debate that is solidly grounded in Christian political thought. After analyzing key laws and institutions in the US immigration system, Amstutz examines how Catholics, evangelicals, and main-line Protestants have used Scripture to address social and political issues, including immigration. He critiques the ways in which many Christians have approached immigration reform and offers concrete suggestions on how Christian groups can offer a more credible political engagement with this urgent policy issue.
Political asylum deceptions : the culture of suspicion
by
This book explores the legitimacy of political asylum applications in the US and UK through an examination of the varieties of evidence, narratives, and documentation with which they are assessed. Credibility is the central issue in determining the legitimacy of political asylum seekers, but the line between truth and lies is often elusive, partly because desperate people often have to use deception to escape persecution. The vetting process has become infused with a climate of suspicion that not only assesses the credibility of an applicant's story and differentiates between the economic migrant and the person fleeing persecution, but also attempts to determine whether an applicant represents a future threat to the receiving country. This innovative text approaches the problem of deception from several angles, including increased demand for evidence, uses of new technologies to examine applicants' narratives, assessments of forged documents, attempts to differentiate between victims and persecutors, and ways that cultural misunderstandings can compromise the process. Essential reading for researchers and students of Political Science, International Studies, Refugee and Migration Studies, Human Rights, Anthropology, Sociology, Law, Public Policy, and Narrative Studies.
Retiring to a new beginning an illustrated history of the Immigration and Naturalization Service.
by
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
by
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West
by
Immigration from foreign countries was a small part of the peopling of the American West but an important aspect in building western infrastructure, cities, and neighborhoods. The Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West provides much more than ethnic groups crossing the plains, landing at ports, or crossing borders; this two-volume work makes the history of the American West an important part of the American experience. Through sweeping entries, focused biographies, community histories, economic enterprise analysis, and demographic studies, this Encyclopedia presents the tapestry of the West and its population during various periods of migration. The two volumes examine the settling of the West and include coverage of movements of American Indians, African Americans, and the often-forgotten role of women in the West's development.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
by
The Making of Modern Immigration
by
Combining the insight of two-dozen expert contributors to examine key figures, events, and policies over 200 years of U.S. immigration history, this work illuminates the foundations of the ethnic and socioeconomic makeup of our nation.
In the Shadows: Undocumented Immigration in America
by
For a complete list check out the Online Video Resources Library Guide!
