Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
This link opens in a new windowEvaluation and measurement tools in health and psychosocial studies. Instruments available include questionnaires, checklists, index measures, rating scales, project techniques, tests, and interview schedules.
Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Other Medical and Science Databases
Hover over each database title to learn more.
ICD
The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is the international standard diagnostic classification for all general epidemiological and many health management purposes. These include the analysis of the general health situation of population groups and monitoring of the incidence and prevalence of diseases and other health problems in relation to other variables such as the characteristics and circumstances of the individuals affected.
AAFP Conditions A to Z
This link opens in a new windowMedical reference materials, clinical assessment tools, and resources for patient education on drugs and medical conditions.
PsycINFO
This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1800s - present.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
Scopus
This link opens in a new windowIndex of scientific journals, books and conference proceedings focused on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
SportDiscus
This link opens in a new windowIndex with scholarly journals, books, and book chapters on sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, facility design & management, health, health education, psychology of sport, physical therapy, nutrition, recreation, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Coverage 1800s - present.
Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Web of Science (ISI Citation Indexes)
This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations. Coverage: 1980 - present. Limited to five simultaneous users.
Articles on business, management, marketing, economics from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Coverage: 1820 - present.
Index of some-full text articles and abstracts related to gender studies, including women's studies, feminism, masculine studies, masculinity studies, transgender studies, LGBTQ, LGBTQA, and sexuality.
Online Video Databases
Nursing Education in Video
This link opens in a new windowVideos for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. Videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS. Coverage: 1985 - present.
Kanopy Streaming Video
This link opens in a new windowDocumentaries, independent and classic feature films, educational videos, and award-winning films and shorts. Distributors include PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and more.
Some titles come with full Public Performance Rights. To enable closed captions or subtitles while watching a film, select the CC icon in the bottom-right corner of the video player. Accounts must be renewed yearly on campus and using a browser, rather than the app.
Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
Academic Video Online
This link opens in a new windowVideo, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources.
Black Studies in Video
This link opens in a new windowDocumentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Filmakers Library Online II
This link opens in a new windowDocumentary films with a focus on social and political issues. A wide range of topics are covered including anthropology, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, and literature. Coverage: 1980s-2017.
Films on Demand
This link opens in a new windowVideos covering a wide range of academic, vocational and life-skills topics. Titles are available upon request. Requests should be submitted to Audio Visual services at: http://libraries.luc.edu/avpurchase.
