Graduate Student Resources
Specialized Terminology
- Cancer & Medical Terminology: NIH National Cancer Center The Cancer and Medical Terminology module introduces you to the terminology used in medical records to describe cancers and other medical conditions. People working in cancer registries need to recognize and understand the medical terminology in the records they collect to ensure that the information included in the Registry's data is as complete and accurate as possible.
Websites: Healthcare Terminology for Patient Safety
- MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
- MedlinePlus Enciclopedia médica (Spanish) La Enciclopedia Ilustrada de Salud (Health Illustrated Encyclopedia) de A.D.A.M. incluye más de 4.000 artículos acerca de enfermedades, exámenes, síntomas, lesiones y procedimientos quirúrgicos. También contiene una biblioteca extensa de fotografías médicas e ilustraciones.
- Daily Med: U.S. National Library of Medicine The DailyMed database contains 135316 labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).
- Official "DO NOT USE" List: Joint Commission This list is part of the Information Management standards Does not apply to preprogrammed health information technology systems (i.e. electronic medical records or CPOE systems), but remains under consideration for the future.
Diagnosis
- The ICD-10 Classification of Mental and Behavioural Disorders byISBN: 9241544228Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias: E-books
Dorland's Medical Dictionary by
Thoroughly updated, this user-friendly reference-trusted for more than a century by healthcare personnel at every professional level-allows you to grasp the meanings of all medical terms in current usage. It delivers more total entries than in any other dictionary of its kind, including several thousand new words, as well as 500 new illustrations to aid your understanding.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781455709854Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by
Taber's brings meanings to life. Put the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. Taber's 23 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0803659040Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781414498881Publication Date: 2013-06-06
Concise Medical Dictionary by
This dictionary covers all aspects of medical science and terminology. Written by a team of medical experts, it has been fully revised and updated for this new edition to reflect the very latest in medical knowledge and practice. Accessible entries are complemented by over 150 illustrations. The 9th edition includes over 450 new entries and features up-to-date coverage of public health medicine and general practice, drugs and pharmacology, endocrinology (particularly diabetology), and cardiology, amongst other specialist areas.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0199687811Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Books: Medical Terminology
Stanfield's Essential Medical Terminology with Navigate 2 Advantage Access by ISBN: 9781284142211Publication Date: 2018-09-27
Guide to Basic Medical Terminology by Publication Date: 2015
