Research & Learning Librarian
Other Research Guides
Quick Guide: Peer Review - How to Judge
- Peer Review: Quick GuideThe attached one-page chart lists the four primary characteristics of a peer reviewed journal article or a book chapter in a scholarly edited book.
Most Used Resources
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowIndex of full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals related to nursing and allied health professions. Coverage: 1937 - present.
- Medline This link opens in a new windowIndex of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, and multimedia.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, as well as many citations.
Online Reference Sources
- Drugs.comThe publishers of PDR now provide the same information online for free at Drugs.com. This site includes an A-Z list of drugs, side effects, drug interaction reports and various medical reference tools to aid in searching.
- DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)The 5th edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-5, published by The American Psychiatric Association, provides standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals, both clinicians and researchers.
- Prescriber's Digital ReferenceAn online version of Physician's Desk Reference. Includes drug information, communications, and access to mobile PDR.
Online Newspaper Subscriptions
Wall Street Journal: Please CLICK HERE to register for an account before attempting to access this resource The Wall Street Journal is the world's leading business publication with coverage from 1984 to the current year.
New York Times Website : Loyola students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to NYTimes.com, including archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access is available through ProQuest Newstream). First time users need to create an account from this link Create a New Account to gain access. Returning users can log in from the New York Times' website from this link. Users will have to "renew" their account once a year with their same login information.