Research Guides: Global Studies: International Organizations

International Organizations by Area

Organization of American States
The Organization of American States is the world’s oldest regional organization, dating back to the First International Conference of American States, held in Washington, D.C., from October 1889 to April 1890. That meeting approved the establishment of the International Union of American Republics, and the stage was set for the weaving of a web of provisions and institutions that came to be known as the inter-American system, the oldest international institutional system.

European Union / EUROPA
The EU was created in the aftermath of the Second World War. The first steps were to foster economic cooperation: the idea being that countries who trade with one another become economically interdependent and so more likely to avoid conflict. The result was the European Economic Community (EEC), created in 1958, and initially increasing economic cooperation between six countries: Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Since then, a huge single market has been created and continues to develop towards its full potential.
European Union: Delegation of the European Commission to the United States
The European Union is a unique economic and political partnership among 28 diverse democracies united in their commitment to peace, democracy, the rule of law, and respect for human rights. It is represented in the United States by the Washington, DC Delegation of the European Union, a full-fledged diplomatic mission working in close coordination with the Embassies and Consulates of the 28 EU Member States
European Union: Internet Resources
A directory of links relating to the European Union hosted and maintained by the University of California Berkeley.

African Union
The vision of the African Union is that of: “An integrated, prosperous and peaceful Africa, driven by its own citizens and representing a dynamic force in global arena.”
Economic Community Of West African States
ECOWAS is a 15-member regional group with a mandate of promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the constituting countries.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations
The ASEAN Vision 2020, adopted by the ASEAN Leaders on the 30th Anniversary of ASEAN, agreed on a shared vision of ASEAN as a concert of Southeast Asian nations, outward looking, living in peace, stability and prosperity, bonded together in partnership in dynamic development and in a community of caring societies.

Money, Trade, Economic Development, and Banking

European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) was founded in 1991 to create a new post-Cold War era in central and eastern Europe, furthering progress towards ‘market-oriented economies and the promotion of private and entrepreneurial initiative’.
International Monetary Fund
An organization of 185 member countries, united to promote international monetary cooperation and exchange stability, as well as foster economic growth and provide temporary financial assistance at the national level.
The World Bank
Not a bank in the traditional sense, the World Bank is a source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries. The World Bank invovles 185 member countries.
World Trade Organization
A global international organization that deals with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments.
NAFTA Secretariat
Responsible for the administration of the dispute settlement provisions of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA).

United Nations

Because of the broad scope of its mission and the need to satisfy a global audience, the United Nations Web site is complicated and frustrating, at times, to navigate. Contact your librarian if you need any help making the most of these links.

The United Nations
The UN's English language Web site. Note links to significant areas of interest in the header of the page.
Advanced Search page for the UN
Documentation Centre
Search for UN resolutions and reports from the General Assembly, the Security Council, and other main bodies.
United Nations Treaty Collection
For contents included in this collection, click on "Overview," or visit: http://treaties.un.org/
United Nations Treaty Database

Other Global Organizations

International Crisis Group
The ICG is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization (NGO) providing field-based analysis and high-level advocacy to prevent and resolve deadly conflict. Creating a personal log-in gives access to all Crisis Group reports.
The Inter-Parliamentary Union
The IPU is the international organization of Parliaments of sovereign States and was established in 1889. The Union is the focal point for world-wide parliamentary dialogue.
Women in Politics (from the IPU)
This biographical database contains references on books and articles dealing with women in politics.
IPU Parline
The PARLINE database contains information on the structure and working methods of 265 parliamentary chambers in all of the 189 countries where a national legislature exists.
Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
Business & Human Rights Resource Centre contains a database of reports by human rights groups on rights violations by corporations.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Global Studies

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

Military and Security

International Organizations by Area

Money, Trade, Economic Development, and Banking

United Nations

Other Global Organizations