Skip to Main Content

General Reference: Publishing Directories

This is a guide for finding general reference tools.

Online

Books in Print
In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos from North American publishers, distributors and wholesalers. Full-text book reviews from sources including Choice, Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, and School Library Journal.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Cabell's Directories in Education, Psychology & Business are exhaustive listings necessary to assist the professional researcher and writer. Entries include: manuscript guidelines, acceptance rating, review type, no. of reviewers and type of readership.

Cambridge Core
Journal articles and ebooks covering a wide range of academic disciplines.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Bibliographic database providing detailed information on serials published throughout the world. Covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Print

Literary Market Place
Call Number: Cudahy Reference PN 161 .L5

ISBN: 0000-1155

Published annually, Literary Market Place is a directory of the book publishing industry. Volume 1 covers publishers, literary agents, editorial services, trade associations and foundations, calendar of events, book trade courses, awards and prizes, and books and magazines for the trade. Volume 2 covers public relations, book reviewers, book clubs, manufacturers, prepress services, distributors and wholesalers, consultants, employment agencies, translators, and artists and art services
Magazines for libraries
Call Number: Cudahy Reference Z6941 .M23

ISBN: 978-1-60030-135-3

Annotates and evaluates approximately 7,000 periodicals. Helpful for identifying basic titles in a broad range of fields. Entries for each title are arranged by topic, then alphabetically, and includes contact and indexing information. Title index.
Poet's Market
Call Number: Cudahy Reference PN 1059 .M3 P59

ISBN: 1582979502

Lists more than 1,700 publishers of poetry, with a brief journal profile, submission requirements, and contact information.
The Writer's Market
Call Number: Cudahy Reference PN161 .W83

ISBN: 1582979480

An annual guide for freelance writers, covering the practical side of publishing, including information about book publishers, magazine, trade and professional journals, scriptwriting, and syndicates. Subject index of book publishers.

Other

Library and Book Trade Almanac
Call Number: Cudahy Reference Z 731 .A471

Full title: Bowker Annual of Library and Book Trade Information