Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Memory Classroom Material
Developed by the Library of Congress' American Memory Historical Collection, this free web resource uses photographs to enhance lesson plans based on the history of the United States. Also included are themed resources, primary source material, and presentations and activities for the classroom.
The Commercial Research Images Archive is an online resource offering royalty-free historical and contemporary images. Subject content is both historical and current, and users may search by category, film type, or keyword. This is a good resource to use as a supplement to lessons and activities.
This website, a multi-collaboration effort between the University of Houston and other institutions, provides a plethora of interactive materials on history, including timelines, films, historical music, and e-lectures.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Earth Science Teaching
This resource provides a variety of earth science-based topics from climate change to igneous rocks to oceanography. A variety of images, maps, satellite photography are included on the site.
EPA Environmental Kids Club
Produced for teachers through the Environmental Protection Agency, this interactive resource allows students to learn about a variety of environmental topics through game shows, crossword puzzles, word searches, and matching games.
An online resource produced by Information Please, Fact Monster offers information on a variety of school subjects, with interactive timelines, atlases, polls, quizzes, and games.
A free multi-subject website, KidsKnowIt offers a variety of interactive games and images for use in the classroom and at home. Subjects range from math, geology, and geography to history, spelling, and astronomy.
National Archives Experience: Docs Teach
Including activities and more than 3,000 primary source materials, teachers can search for digitized versions of written documents, maps, charts, graphs, video, and audio throughout American history.
National Gallery of Art
The NGA Classroom is a good online resource for teachers looking to incorporate art into their lesson plans, activities, or general curriculum. The site is searchable by curriculum, topic, or artist, and includes a variety of art photography.
Smithsonian's History Explorer
Compiled through the National Museum of American History, this website includes a variety of interactive materials, from primary source documents and museum photographs, to visual and audio accounts on various topics throughout American history.