Web Resources
- African American History and Culture in the United StatesProduced by the National Endowment for the Humanities, this website offers a collection of lessons and resources for K-12 social studies, literature, and arts classrooms that center around the achievements, perspectives, and experiences of African Americans across U.S. history.
- Culturally Responsive Science CurriculumSince 1996, the Alaska Science Consortium has been working with the Alaska Rural Systemic Initiative (AKRSI) and the Alaska Department of Education to help develop standards-based, culturally relevant curriculum that effectively integrates indigenous and Western knowledge around science topics.
- Multicultural Education Internet Resource GuideCompiled by Dr. Jon Reyhner of Northern Arizona University, this website is a guide to over fifty websites with multicultural information for educators. The content is varied, and includes links to lesson plans, photographs, maps, videos, and quizzes. Information is sorted by subject and geographical location.
- Multicultural Pavilion: Teachers CornerPart of EdChange, an organization devoted to equity, diversity, multiculturalism, and social justice, the Multicultural Pavilion includes handouts, activities, lesson plans, and other resources related to diversity and multiculturalism.
- Multicultural Teaching: Information and StrategiesProduced by the Center for Research on Learning and Teaching at the University of Michigan, this website includes resources for teaching strategies, course planning, difficult discussions and topics in the classroom, and more.
- A Racial Justice Guide to the Winter Holiday Season for Educators and FamiliesIn an effort to be affirming, reflective, and critical about how we approach and celebrate holidays as school communities, the Center for Racial Justice in Education offers a list of resources for educators and families that aims to provide inclusive understanding of religious holidays celebrations and strategies for supporting all students.
- Understanding PrejudiceA great web resource on prejudice of all types, the Teacher's Corner includes teaching ideas, materials, activities and assignments from elementary level to college.
Organizations and Agencies
- Center for Multicultural EducationLocated at the University of Washington, the Center for Multicultural Education "focuses on research projects and activities designed to improve practice related to equity issues, intergroup relations, and the achievement of all students." Also included are links to publications, additional resources, and successful K-12 programs.
- National Association for Multicultural EducationThe National Association for Multicultural Education is an international organization dedicated to multicultural education PreK-12 and beyond. Members include curriculum specialists, teachers, administrators, school psychologists and social workers.
- Office for Civil RightsAn agency under the supervision of the U.S. Department of Education, the Office for Civil Rights is devoted to ensuring "equal access to education and to promote educational excellence throughout the nation through vigorous enforcement of civil rights." The agency's homepage includes publications such as reports and other documents, along with additional resource lists.
E-magazines and Bibliographies
- Diversity DigestA periodical published by the Association of American Colleges and Universities, Diversity Digest strives to provide educators with the latest curricular models for diversity and global learning requirements, perform research on the impact of diversity on student learning, and provide best practices and other resources for diversity in learning.
- Electronic Magazine of Multicultural EducationAn open-access e-journal published by Eastern University, the EMME provides topics on scholarly and practical ideas used to enhance and improve multicultural education. This publication was produced from 1999 through 2006.
- Multicultural Teaching: Annotated BibliographiesAlso produced by the Center for Research on Learning and Teaching, this web page has a brief list of helpful sites, guides, and documents on multiculturalism and diversity.
Real Stories
- I Learn America (streaming video)Click the link above to log in and view the film online. Click this link to learn more about the film, filmmakers and students. http://ilearnamerica.com/the-film/
- I Learn America "Human Library"Inspired by the film "I Learn America," real students who have recently immigrated to the United States tell their stories.
Subject Guide
Tracy Ruppman
she/her
Contact:
Research and Learning Librarian
Liaison for the School of Education
Liaison for the departments of Psychology and Sociology
Interim liaison for the Department of English
Lewis Library
Loyola University Chicago
truppman@luc.edu
Liaison for the School of Education
Liaison for the departments of Psychology and Sociology
Interim liaison for the Department of English
Lewis Library
Loyola University Chicago
truppman@luc.edu