LibGuides: Anthropology : Databases

Anthropology Article Indexes and Abstracts

Consult the databases below for highly-relevant subject-specific information about anthropology and related topics.

Anthropology Online
Full-text collection of ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
Anthropology Plus
Indexes including international coverage of the fields of anthropology and archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Updated monthly. Coverage: 1899s - present.

Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
AnthroSource
Comprehensive collection of journals, newsletters, and bulletins, including the complete archival holdings from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Topics include language, food and cooking, economic systems, caste systems, religion, music and the arts, sex, gender, and family.
GenderWatch
Index of some-full text articles and abstracts related to gender studies, including women's studies, feminism, masculine studies, masculinity studies, transgender studies, LGBTQ, LGBTQA, and sexuality.
eHRAF World Cultures
Index of cross-cultural and ethnographic descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Collection is organized by cultures and ethnic groups.
Indigenous Peoples: North America Archive
Covers the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. The archive includes monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections. Sources include the National Archives and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library, the Alaska Indian Language Collection of Gonzaga University, and the W.S. Prettyman photograph collection of Wichita State University.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology
Bibliographies covering anthropology.

Related Databases

Anthropology intersects with many topics. Databases within the humanities, history, and social science fields contain useful information that can support your work.

CRL: Center for Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Founded in 1949, CRL supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions.

ECO -- Electronic Collection Online
ECO indexes more than 5,000 academic and professional journals in the fields of agriculture, anthropology, business, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, language, law, political science, literature, medicine, philosophy, and others.
Historical Abstracts
Index with some full-text and abstracts covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Index of scholarly journals covering humanities and social sciences. Coverage: 1907 - 1984.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Index with some abstracts and some full-text journal articles, books, series, translations, and dissertations on the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Includes. Coverage: 1900s - present.

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.
Social Science Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index of social science journals. Coverage: 1980 - present.
Wiley Online Library
Full-text journals covering science, technology, medicine, and anthropology.