Subject Librarian
Citation Basics
When instructors ask you to write in a particular "style," they usually do not mean writing style. They are referring to the standardized editorial style researchers in your discipline have adopted to present written material in the field. This editorial style consists of rules or guidelines that a researcher observes to ensure clear and consistent presentation of written material. Instructors will usually indicate which citation style they would like followed for a given paper or assignment.* If your instructor has not specified a particular style, be sure to ask which one to use.
While the field of Art History typically uses Chicago style citation, the below guides include assistance with that style in addition to APA, MLA, and others.
Refworks
What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is an easy-to-use citation manager. In other words, it will help you keep track of the citations you collect while researching. You can access RefWorks using any device that connects to the internet, and it creates complete bibliographies in a matter of a few clicks.
What you can do with citations in RefWorks:
- Import citations from research database
- Organize your citations in folders
- Create citations from scratch
- Compile bibliographies/works cited
- Share your citations with other RefWorks users
- Create multiple accounts (useful for group work and collaborations!)
- RefWorksThe above web page link provides guidance for using RefWorks, and access to a new version of RefWorks available for Loyola Students, Faculty, Staff, and Alumni.
Copyright Information
Understanding what copyright is, which information (including images!) is covered by copyright, and how you can fairly use copyrighted information, is an essential skill when doing research. To help you out, here are a few handy tools:
Quick Guide: Peer Review - How to Judge
- Peer Review: Quick GuideThe attached one-page chart lists the four primary characteristics of a peer reviewed journal article or a book chapter in a scholarly edited book.
The link below provides a simple one-page chart listing four primary characteristics of a peer reviewed journal article. It suggests ways in which you may judge whether an article meets each criteria. These characterists may also be applied when evaluating a book chapter in an edited book. This is not a definitive guide - when in doubt, always consult your professor or contact the library reference desk (see the Need Help tab at the top of this subject guide for a variety of ways to contact a reference librarian).
Writing, Citations, and Copyright
This page provides guidance and external resources for dealing with copyright, as well as to properly citing and judging the quality of the sources you may find in the library, online databases, or elsewhere.
Writing Help
Writing Center
Phone: 773.508.7708
E-mail: writingctr@luc.edu
Writing Center tutors are available to help you at any point of the writing process—from brainstorming, to organizing, to putting the final touches on a bibliography. Tutors are experienced graduate students in the field of English available to help you become a better writer.
The Writing Center has three convenient locations: in the IC and the Sullivan Center on the Lake Shore Campus, and at the WTC on the 6th floor of 25 E Pearson.
Though walk-ins are welcome, it is reccomended that you make an appointment.
Visit the Writing Center's site for a step-by-step guide to the writing process. http://www.luc.edu/writing/index.shtml