What is Zotero?
Zotero is a free reference management tool (software) that works on Windows, Apple, and Linux. It allows you to...
- Collect bibliographic information (extracts metadata) on books, journal articles, videos and other resources from library resources, databases, & free sites.
- Collect PDF's file, images, screenshots, and other files for each citation/reference in your library.
- Create a bibliography and in-text citations in a variety of reference styles in a Word or OpenOffice document.
- Enter notes & tags that can be searched to build connections in many styles.
- Sync citations and files across multiple devices.
- Create Groups to share citations, collection, notes, and tags with colleagues.
I use Zotero to keep track of everything I look at while I'm researching. This includes books from the library catalog, articles in databases, and websites. It also helps me figure out how to present my citations.
While Zotero can do a lot of the work for you, you'll always have to double-check that all the information is there and in the right format. You can find guidance on citations here: Purdue OWL.
Info
A quick overview of the set-up steps you should take:
- Create a free Zotero.org account.
- Install Zotero
- Link your account to your Zotero instance
- Get started!
- Don't forget about Zotero's collaboration and group collection features.
- Zotero: Quick Start GuideHow to download Zotero 5.0. Handout
It is ideal to use the computer/laptop and browser you plan to use for literature research.
Download
- Use Google Chrome or Firefox browser
- Go to the Zotero Download page
- The site will automatically detect your operating system (Win, Mac, Linux*) and browser.
- Zotero DOES NOT work with Chromebooks or Office 365
- Download Zotero 5.0 and browser Connector
Installation of Zotero
- Close any Microsoft Office programs (e.g. Word)
- Open the downloaded Zotero file (.exe or .dmg).
- Follow the installation directions
- Zotero and an MS Word add-in will be installed
- Open the Zotero program
- Open MS Word
- Notice the word Zotero on your toolbar.
Installation of Browser Connector (Add-on/extension)
- Install the Zotero Connector for your browser (best with Chrome or Firefox)
- Browser may restart after installation
- You'll notice a Zotero icon (a "Z" or a small rectangle) on the right side of your browser toolbar
Preferences
It is a good idea to look through the preferences after downloading Zotero to get a better idea of how you can customize the application to better fit your needs. In order to view the preferences, click the gear icon on the top left of the Zotero panel.
Once you open preferences, browse through the different tabs to familiarize yourself with the options available. There are a few important things you need to change in order to get the most out of Zotero. Each important feature is shown below.
I. General
Check the box “Automatically attach associated PDFs.” This will store all available PDFs so you can access them at any time through Zotero.
II. Sync
Create a Zotero account if you haven't already created one when you initially downloaded Zotero. Also make sure the box "Sync automatically" is checked. This will ensure that your library will sync up with your online account so you can access your citations from any computer, even if the computer doesn't have Zotero downloaded! Just go to Zotero.org and log in with your account information.
III. Advanced
Add the following line into the "Resolver" box as shown in the screenshot below: https://luc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01LUC_INST/01LUC_INST:01LUC
You can also simply click "Choose Resolver" > North America > Loyola University Chicago. This will ensure that Zotero recognizes you as a student at LUC and allows you to access library items paid for by your tuition!
This tool is separate from the Zotero software. ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It’s brought to you by the team behind Zotero, the powerful open-source research tool recommended by thousands of universities worldwide, so you can trust it to help you seamlessly add sources and produce perfect bibliographies. If you need to reuse sources across multiple projects or build a shared research library, we recommend using Zotero instead.
- Zotero BibliographyA free tool to help create a citation or a bibliography. Paste in a DOI, Title, or another important piece and citation is created.
- Zotero.com The main homepage of Zotero.com
- Zotero Video Tutorials A variety of library teams, Zotero users, and other community members have produced video tutorials for Zotero, including general overviews and demonstrations of specific features. Note that many of the videos available on the internet were produced using older versions of Zotero, and the current Zotero interface and functionality may look very different from what is shown.
The Library has featured Zotero because users have found it easy to use, well-supported, and costs nothing (except the time to learn it). But not everyone likes Zotero –tastes and needs vary. Here are three alternative resources that may better meet your research needs:
- RefWorks RefWorks is a tool you can use to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents. Read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections. Using tools like "drag and drop" capability, "smart document recognition" and "Save To", upload documents, bibliographic metadata, and capture research from websites into your own personal research database which is saved on the web. Also use RefWorks to create simple bibliographies and papers formatted with in-text citations or footnotes.
- Easybib Add-in for Microsoft 365 Note that this is a add-in for Word and only functions inside of Word. The application will place an icon in Word, visible when you click on the References tab. You can search for sources and import a citation directly into your Word document. Supported styles are MLA7 and 8, APA, and Chicago. You can also find this add-in at the EasyBib site itself.
- EndNote Provided by Clarivate Analytics and Web of Science. The free version provides 2GB of free online storage and 50,000 maximum records. EbscoHOST databases (including QuickSearch) provide the ability to directly export your articles to EndNote.
- Mendeley Owned by Elsevier and there is a free basic version available, with 2GB storage. The basic version allows you to create and own one private account. If you create a private group for sharing work, a free account is limited to three members. The networking capability allows you to collaborate by sharing documents with others in your group.