Research Guides: History: Text and Document Collections

Text and Document Collections: World History

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
French texts, most published in the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, on diverse subjects.
A cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago. Contains the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes.
Eighteenth Century Collection Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images of books from diverse subjects and published between 1700 and 1800.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images of books and other materials from diverse subjects and published between 1800 and 1900.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Contains primary works by prominent philosophers.

Text and Document Collections: Medieval History

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
Provides information about the lives of the saints as published in the 68 print volumes of this title between 1643 and 1940.
Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains Latin literature written in Celtic Europe.
Aristoteles Latinus Database This link opens in a new window
Contains medieval translations of the works of Aristotle.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Includes works written from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronius, 240 BCE) through to the Second Vatican Council (1962-65).
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window
Divided into Antiquitates, Diplomata, Epistolae, Leges, Scriptores, and Alia for the study of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland in the Middle Ages.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Contains primary works by prominent philosophers.
Patrologia Graecae This link opens in a new window
Provides the Greek portion of the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, an edited collection of writings of the church fathers through 1439, published between 1857 and 1866.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Provides the Latin portion of the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, an edited collection of writings of the church fathers from Tertullian (200 AD) to the death of Pope Innocent III (1216), published between 1844 and 1855.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Provides texts in Greek from the time of the poet Homer in the 8th century BCE to the fall of the Byzantine Empire in 1453.

Text and Document Collections: American History

Afro-Americana Imprints This link opens in a new window
Includes books, pamphlets, and other materials printed between 1535 and 1922 on all topics in African-American studies.
Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
Includes census, vital, church, court, and immigration records from the U.S. and Canada.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images of books on religion and theology with a concentration on titles published between 1800 and 1923.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Contains non-fiction books and other writings on issues of race.
Early American Imprints This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images of books and other texts published between 1600 and 1800.
Eighteenth Century Collection Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images of books from diverse subjects and published between 1700 and 1800.
Indigenous Peoples: North America Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes books, manuscripts, photographs, and other materials held in the archival collections of government agencies and institutions public and private.
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new window
Provides Supreme Court briefs, transcripts, and documents from between 1832 and 1978.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images of books and other materials from diverse subjects and published between 1800 and 1900.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Contains primary works by prominent philosophers.
ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Includes primary source documents written during the American Civil War period.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Includes books and other documents about America published internationally between 1500 and 1926.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new window
Includes books, manuscripts, and Supreme Court records (as well as magazine and newspaper articles) on diverse topics related to slavery, its opposition, and emancipation.

Women and Social Movements Scholars' Edition
Includes documents dating from 1600 to 2000.

Text and Document Collections: British History

Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
Includes census, vital, church, court, and emigration records from the United Kingdom.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Reproduces the works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short Title Catalogue, Wing's Short Title Catalogue, and Thomason Tracts.
Eighteenth Century Collection Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images of books from diverse subjects and published between 1700 and 1800.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images of books and other materials from diverse subjects and published between 1800 and 1900.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Contains primary works by prominent philosophers.
Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes primary source materials on the works of Shakespeare.
State Papers Online: The Government of Britain This link opens in a new window
Select State Papers Domestic and Foreign from the UK National Archives. Documents the British government in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries.

Text and Document Collections: Illinois History

For additional ideas, please see the Archival Collections page's section on Chicago and Illinois collections (link here).

County and Town Histories
Includes texts written in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Illinois Digital Archives
Provides access to digital documents from Illinois libraries, including the Illinois State Library.
Railroads in the Midwest: Early Documents and Images
Provides documents dating from between 1861 and 1890 on the growth of railroads.

Text and Document Collections: Catholic and Protestant Church History

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
Provides information about the lives of the saints as published in the 68 print volumes of this title between 1643 and 1940.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Texts published in a variety of languages between 1200 and 1923.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts This link opens in a new window
Contains texts written between 1500 and 1600.
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation This link opens in a new window
Contains texts written between 1500 and 1600.
Eighteenth Century Collection Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images of books from diverse subjects and published between 1700 and 1800.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Includes works written from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronius, 240 BCE) through to the Second Vatican Council (1962-65).
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images of books and other materials from diverse subjects and published between 1800 and 1900.

Papal Encyclicals Online
Provides Papal and other official documents of the Roman Catholic Church.

Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Contains primary works by prominent philosophers.

Text and Document Collections: Thematic

Archives of Sexuality & Gender Part 3: Sex and Sexuality in the 16th through 20th Centuries This link opens in a new window
Provides digital books on historical and social topics related to sexuality and gender written between 1600 and 1940; international in scope.

Search Gale Primary Sources

Gale Primary Sources allows users to simultaneously search the digital collections listed below and create an account to save items of interest

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
Making of Modern Law: Treatises, 1800-1926
Making of the Modern World
Burney Collection of 17th and 18th Century Newspapers
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
19th Century UK Periodicals
19th Century US Newspapers
Times Digital Archive
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

History

All-Hours Research Help

On this Page