History

Locates archival materials using records from the WorldCat catalog.

Provides access to digital books and documents from archival collections.

Finding aid maintained by the Library of Congress.

Online collections organized topically.

Search online collections and exhibitions.

The National Archives governs federal records and information policy for the executive branch and preserves and makes available the records of the judicial and legislative branches.

The historical library for the State of Illinois.

Collection includes historic scientific instruments and rare books.

Holds the official records of the Archdiocese and collects materials on Catholicism in Chicago.

Collections also include the papers of artists, designers, and architects; a focus is on late 19th- and 20th-century American architecture.

Distributes information about collections in Chicago area archives.

Collects artifacts and documents on the history of the Chicago region.

Collection strengths include social justice, the Catholic Left, and advocacy organizations for women and communities.

Helps locate corporate archives whether operated by the corporation or by an outside firm.

Collections emphasize biological systematics, evolutionary biology, geology, archaeology, ethnology and material culture.

Collection focused on American military history.

Depository for the records of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer-identified (LGBTQ) individuals and organizations.

The Illinois Digital Archives (IDA) was created in 2000, as a repository for the digital collections of the Illinois State Library as well as other libraries and cultural institutions in the State of Illinois.

Houses the digital collections of the Illinois State Library, the Chicago Public Library, and many of the state's academic libraries.

An image collection to commemorate the historic industries and workers of Chicago's Calumet Region.

Distributes information about uncatalogued archival collections that chronicle Black Chicago between the 1930s and 1970s.

Collections are wide-ranging, encompassing the civilizations of Europe and the Americas.

Expansive collections cover many periods, locations, and formats.

Collection focused on military history.

Seeks to preserve the material culture of the Jewish people.

Provides finding aids for diverse historical collections.

Collects materials related to the political, social and cultural history of Chicago, with a focus on the 20th and 21st centuries.