Research Guides: School of Continuing &amp; Professional Studies: Computer Science & IT

Computer Science & IT

This guide will introduce you to resources that are available to you, if at any point you are not sure where to find information, you can always contact me or use our Ask a Librarian chat.

ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform) This link opens in a new window Articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full-text articles, journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines and ebooks covering computing and information technology. Includes the full collection of ACM Journals.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Full-text articles, ebooks, and conference preecedings covering computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields. Coverage: 1800s - present.
Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window Ebooks covering business, data, design, STEM, security, hardware & software development, system administration, and web & mobile design.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text math and science journals.

w3schools Free tutorials for all web development technologies.
Harvard Business Review Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
MIT Technology Review MIT's national magazine of technology and policy.

Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online) This link opens in a new window Full-text encyclopedic entries covering topics in social sciences.

Open Textbook Library: Computer Science & Information Systems Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
EBL eBooks- Computer Science
Green Tea Press: Books Series of open access computer science books.

Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window Ebooks covering business, data, design, STEM, security, hardware & software development, system administration, and web & mobile design.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window Full-text ebooks, including reference books, scholarly monographs, university press publications and consumer books.

ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform) This link opens in a new window Articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full-text articles, journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines and ebooks covering computing and information technology. Includes the full collection of ACM Journals.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window Index of citations of journals related to science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Coverage: 1990 - present.
ECO -- Electronic Collection Online This link opens in a new window ECO indexes more than 5,000 academic and professional journals in the fields of agriculture, anthropology, business, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, language, law, political science, literature, medicine, philosophy, and others.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Full-text articles, ebooks, and conference preecedings covering computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields. Coverage: 1800s - present.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window Full-text articles, images, abstracts, and citations covering education, general science, humanities, social sciences, and business. Coverage: 1982 - present.
Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window Ebooks covering business, data, design, STEM, security, hardware & software development, system administration, and web & mobile design.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text math and science journals.

ArXiv.org Open access to 760,000+ e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
Ingenta: Table of Contents Alert Service & RSS feeds Up to 50 periodical titles per profile can be selected for table of contents alerting, or alerts can be customized using 25 keywords and/or author search strategies. Research alerts are delivered by email. RSS feeds of TOCs are also available. Contains a number of titles in Computer and Information Sciences

CS Department Systems Handbook Provided by the Computer Science Department at Loyola University Chicago, this guide is aimed at helping you understand the services provided in the department and those offered by university IT (ITS) that might also be helpful to your work in CS and related majors. Also available in PDF and ePub. formats for offline or tablet reading.
Citation and Writing Guide A guide to resources for citing materials used in research
15 Data Visualizations That Will Blow Your Mind
The Evolution of the Web
World Wide Web Timeline
Internet History
21 Visionary Programmers and Coders Who Built the Web We Know Today

Catalog of Free Compilers and Interpreters This list catalogues freely available software for language tools, which includes the following: compilers, compiler generators, interpreters, translators, important libraries, assemblers, etc. -- things whose user interface is a language. Natural language processing tools may also be included.
DevX Archives Recommended using the custom search.
freecodeCamp Learn to code.
Free Programming Books
Links to hundreds of free programming books.
w3schools Free tutorials for all web development technologies.

CiteSeer: Computer Science Directory
A well-organized search capability for computer science papers and algorithms. CiteSeer is a digital library of scientific literature developed and maintained by the NEC Research Institute, Inc., a subsidiary of NEC Corporation. The CiteSeer uses search engines and crawlers to locate scientific and technical papers on the Web.
Infomime
A virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level.
Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

Collected Algorithms (CALGO) of the ACM
The Stony Brook Algorithm Repository
This page is intended to serve as a comprehensive collection of algorithm implementations for over seventy of the most fundamental problems in combinatorial algorithms.

Computer Science Bibliographies This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science. The collection currently contains more than 1.4 million references (mostly to journal articles, conference papers and technical reports), clustered in about 1400 bibliographies
On-line CS Techreports A searchable list of sites around the world that have online Computer Science technical reports.
New Zealand Digital Library's Computer Science Technical Reports Collection A searchable digital library that provides a full-text index to over 20,000 technical reports culled from the archives of over 250 university and research institutions around the world.
Digital Bibliography and Library Project (DBLP) The Digital Bibliography and Library Project (DBLP) indexes over 1.3 million conference proceedings, articles, series, and books in Computer Science.
Human-Computer Interaction Bibliography Over 63,000 entries on HCI hosted by ACM SIGCHI.

BABEL A glossary of computer oriented abbreviations & acronyms.
Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing A browsable and searchable dictionary of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, and more.
Webopedia online dictionary for computer and internet terms

Department of Energy: Information Bridge The Information Bridge provides access to a variety of full-text research and development documents produced by the Department of Energy in a variety of scientific disciplines, including computer and information science. The Information Bridge is a product of the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information and includes reports from 1995 forward.
National Science Foundation This site highlights current National Science Foundation program areas and describes various awards and funding opportunities available for researchers. An overview of new funding opportunities and corresponding application deadlines are listed by discipline and are regularly updated. Current news releases related to specific projects and disciplines are also available.
NIST: Math and Computer Science Section The Mathematical & Computational Sciences Division of the NIST, an agency of the U.S. Commerce Department's Technology Administration, focuses on solving scientific problems of interest to American industry through modern analytical and computational methods.

AI (Artificial Intelligence) Topics Gateway to the research, people, and applications of Artificial Intelligence. Includes a searchable archive of news articles, interviews, lecture notes, instructional tools, RSS feeds, recommended readings, podcasts, and videos.
Microsoft Academic Search Searches approximately 30 million scholarly articles from 14 million different authors. Very broad coverage, but searches can be limited by subject, including Computer Science.
Odysci Academic Search for Computer Science and Electronics Search engine that covers scholarship in CS and ECE such as ACM, IEEE, DBLP, CiteSeerX, and others with some unique functionality for limiting searches and controlling results (e.g., by university, only papers that received awards, etc.) Beta version.
Wolfram Alpha An online service that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from selected, externally sourced, data sets and research. Examples of questions relating to Computer Systems that can be asked can be found here: http://www.wolframalpha.com/examples/WebAndComputerSystems.html

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full-text articles, journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines and ebooks covering computing and information technology. Includes the full collection of ACM Journals.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window Index of citations of journals related to science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Coverage: 1990 - present.
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary index of individual papers presented at conferences, with abstracts from the British Library. Coverage: 1993 - present.
Proceedings This link opens in a new window Citations of individual papers presented at conferences throughout the world. Coverage: 1993 - present.

Computer Science Software/IDE's

Click the links below for more detailed information on the individual product's, most include an introductory tutorial. The application files are located under the START menu of any public computer on-campus: look for Loyola Software- Math & Computer Science to download.

Eclipse (Java)
Blue J (Java)
Netbeans (Java)
IDLE (Python)
Visual Studio Code (various)
Sublime (various)
Visual Studio Community Edition (C++, C#, ASP.Net, and others)
R

Loyola University Lab Software List
Lists the various software applications available for use in the computer labs. Some limited licensed or discipline-specific software is not available in all locations, only where denoted.

IT Certification: Microsoft

MCSE MCSE (Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer) is designed for developing, maintaining, implementing and securing a network infrastructure on the Windows based operating systems. -Level: One to two years of experience in designing, installing, configuring, and troubleshooting network systems
MCSA MCSA (Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator) administers, secures, and maintains Windows based computer network. -Level: One to twelve months of experience in working with a desktop operating system, a network operating system, and an existing network infrastructure
MCDST MCDST (Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician) certified people troubleshoot the hardware and software related issues in the Windows based network infrastructure. -Level: Six to twelve months of experience in supporting end users of a desktop operating system
MCDBA MCDBA (Microsoft Certified Database Administrator) for the design, implement and administer the SQL server database. -Level: One year of experience working with Microsoft SQL Server
MCT MCT (Microsoft Certified Trainers) are the qualified instructors that deliver the support training to the IT professionals and the developers. -Level: More than one year of experience, and one of the required MCP certifications or Microsoft Dynamics certifications
MCSD MCSD (Microsoft Certified Solution Developers) certified design, implement and develop the business solutions and the business applications by using the Microsoft tools, technologies and the Windows based operating systems. -Level: Two or more years of experience developing and maintaining IT solutions and applications

Additional IT Certification

Comptia Certifications
Comptia (Computing Technology Industry Association) is an association of more than 8000 companies. They provide the IT certifications for IT professional on a number of topics. Comptia offers a wide range of industry’s recognized certifications such as Comptia A+, Comptia Linux+, Comptia Security+, Comptia Server+, Comptia CDIA+, Comptia Project+ and Comptia Convergence+.
ISC2
ISC2 offers a wide range of advance security related certifications which include CISSP, ISSAP, ISSMP and SSCP for IT professionals interested in network/system securities.

IT Certification: Cisco

CCDA CCDA (Cisco Certified Design Associate) validates knowledge required to design a Cisco converged network. -Prerequisites: CCNA level knowledge and BCMSN level knowledge is needed to prepare for the CCDA certification exam.
CCDP CCDP (Cisco Certified Design Professional) validates advanced knowledge of network design concepts and principles. -Prerequisites: Valid CCNA and CCDA or any CCIE Certification can act as a prerequisite.
CCENT CCENT (Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician) validates the ability to install, operate and troubleshoot a small enterprise branch network, including basic network security.
CCNA CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associates) validates the candidates’ skill and knowledge that is required to operate, install, configure and troubleshoot a small to medium sized network.
CCNA Security CCNA Security (Cisco Certified Network Associate Security) validates associate-level knowledge and skills required to secure Cisco networks. -Prerequisites: Valid CCNA or any CCIE Certification can act as a prerequisite.
CCNA Voice CCNA Voice (Cisco Certified Network Associate Voice) validates associate-level knowledge and skills required to administer a voice network. -Prerequisites: Valid CCNA or any CCIE Certification can act as a prerequisite
CCNA Wireless CCNA Wireless (Cisco Certified Network Associate Wireless) validates associate-level knowledge and skills to configure, implement and support of wireless LANs, specifically those networks using Cisco equipment. -Prerequisites: Valid CCNA or any CCIE Certification can act as a prerequisite.
CCNP CCNP (Cisco Certified Network Professional) validates the ability to plan, implement, verify and troubleshoot local and wide-area enterprise networks and work collaboratively with specialists on advanced security, voice, wireless and video solutions. -Prerequisites: Valid CCNA certification or any CCIE Certification can act as a prerequisite.
CCNP Wireless CCNP Wireless certification addresses the need for designing, implementing, and operating Cisco Wireless networks and mobility infrastructures. -Prerequisites: Valid CCNA Wireless Certification or any CCIE Certification can act as a prerequisite.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

School of Continuing & Professional Studies

Departmental Labs

TechCrunch

Bioinformatics

Computer Science & IT

Computer Science Software/IDE's

IT Certification: Microsoft

Additional IT Certification

IT Certification: Cisco