Loyola University Chicago Libraries

School of Continuing and Professional Studies: Home

Getting Started

Welcome to the SCPS Research Guide!

This guide will introduce you to to some of the resources that are available to you. In addition to this guide, it is highly recommended to look at the additional subject-specific Research Guides. Each guide contains various resources and tools that have been created to help you research based off of your subject of study or your research topic. If at any point you are not sure where to find specific information, you can always contact me or use our Ask a Librarian.

ITS Help Desk

Both the Lewis Library and Information Commons provides best effort to help with technical issues for WiFi:

Basic Computer Skills

Get Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Librarians are available 24/7 to answer your questions about library services, information resources, and conducting research.

Contact us using any of the following options:

 

Digital Media Lab

Both the Lewis Library and information Commons Digital Media Labs featuring a wide array of robust workstations, multimedia applications and technical support for working with digital images, audio, and video.

The labs also offer a wide variety of equipment for check-out, including digital cameras, video cameras, iPads, and audio equipment.

See Digital Media Services for more information. Located on the 6th floor of the Lewis Library, Room 605.

Going Online? Take the Library with You

COVID-19: Continuity of Library Services

We wanted to remind you of a few steps you can take to make sure you have continued access to library resources. We’ll be updating this with additional tips and resources, so check back.

Off Campus Access

Make sure you can log in to the Flagship EZProxy server. This uses your UVID and password. If you are experiencing issues, try Password Self Service, and our troubleshooting guide.

You can log in to the library catalog before searching to ensure you are seeing all available resources–some of them don’t show up unless you’re on campus or logged in.

Research Help

The library has 24/7 chat reference service. Ask a Librarian links are available from the library website, catalog, and selected databases.

Librarian Research Appointments: I will be available for remote consultations via phone, email, or online (e.g. Zoom).

You can search for ebooks in the library catalog. (That link will show you all the ebooks available, but you will have to change the search to be your topic).

The SCPS Research Guide also has a new COVID-19 Resources Page: https://libguides.luc.edu/scps/covid-19

 

Getting Started

Not sure where to start your research? The interdisciplinary databases are good places to search for information on any topic, and have lots of full-text material available. 

Get Materials

Interlibrary Loan
Request materials such as books, articles, and dissertations that are not otherwise available in the Loyola University Libraries.

Course Reserves 
Course Reserves are educational materials that have been set aside and made available for specific classes and have shorter borrowing periods and different renewal policies. See Course Reserves for more information.

Document Delivery
Request scanned copies of articles and book chapters from Loyola's print collections.

Distance Education
The ILL office will mail books from the Loyola University Libraries to students enrolled exclusively in distance education courses and to graduate students who reside outside of Chicagoland (in the U.S.).

Online Newspaper Subscriptions

Wall Street JournalPlease CLICK HERE to register for an account before attempting to access this resource The Wall Street Journal is the world's leading business publication with coverage from 1984 to the current year.

New York Times Website : Loyola students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to NYTimes.com, including archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access is available through ProQuest Newstream). First time users need to create an account from this link Create a New Account to gain access. Returning users can log in from the New York Times' website from this link. Users will have to "renew" their account once a year with their same login information.

noteworthy

News from Loyola University Chicago Libraries.

Loading ...

Chat with a Librarian 24/7

AskLive

This service is 24/7!

For more information about AskLive see the About AskLive tab.

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Annette Alvarado's picture
Annette Alvarado
Contact:
Lewis Library
LUC Libraries
25 E. Pearson #619
Chicago, IL 60611
aalvarado2@luc.edu
312.915.6629
Website Skype Contact: aalvarado2@luc.edu

Hours

Spring 2020 Hours (Starting March 20th)

Lewis Library: 
CLOSED (Monday-Friday)
CLOSED (Saturday and Sunday)
Reference Desk Hours:
​CLOSED (Monday-Friday)
Cudahy Library: 
CLOSED (Monday-Friday)
CLOSED (Saturday and Sunday)
Information Commons:  
CLOSED (Monday-Friday)
CLOSED (Saturday and Sunday)
Reference Desk Hours
CLOSED (Monday-Friday)​

 

Website Hours/Schedule

Writing Center

Schedule an appointment online!

Check out "How to: Writing Center" for a short tutorial on setting up appointments online. 

Preparing for your session:

  • Schedule online using http://luc.mywconline.com to make an appointment with a tutor. 
  • Be on time for your appointment.
  • Come to the Writing Center with your paper assignment and with rough drafts, if you have them.
  • Ask questions during your session, and keep an open mind when your tutor makes suggestions.
  • Remember: The Writing Center is not a fix-it shop; we work with you to improve your writing.