Research Guides: Achieving College Excellence (ACE) : Community Resources

Community Resources

Community Services: Information and Resources

Chicago Resource Hub Chicago's Social Service Resource Hub and Database Portal, an Open-end and Free Search Tool with 4500+ Organizations Listed
City of Chicago: Community Resources List Numerous organizations throughout Chicago provide support to immigrants from all over the world. This page provides contact information for many of these resources
DHS for Customers Services by Division Family & Community Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) IDHS' Child Care Assistance Program provides low-income, working families with access to affordable, quality child care that allows them to continue working and contributes to the healthy, emotional and social development of the child. CCAP can help families pay for care in center-based or home settings. Families are required to cost-share on a sliding scale based on family size and income.
Illinois Link Card The Illinois Link card is a plastic card that looks and works like a debit card. If you are eligible for cash and SNAP benefits, you will access both with the same card. Only one Illinois Link Card is issued per case.
Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) helps keep families safe and healthy through initiatives that assist families with energy costs.
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) helps low-income people and families buy the food they need for good health.
WIC (Women Infant Children program) WIC-Women Infant Children is a federal funded program implemented by the City of Chicago Department of Public Health that provides pregnant, breastfeeding, postpartum women, children and infants with nutrition assistance.
Metropolitan Family Services Metropolitan Family Services empowers families to learn, to earn, to heal, to thrive. Part mentor, part motivator, part advocate, since 1857 Metropolitan Family Services has been the engine of change that empowers Chicago-area families to reach their greatest potential and positively impact their communities.
Find a Community Health Center: City of Chicago

Community Health Centers/Clinics

Community Health Clinics are neighborhood-based health care clinics that provide comprehensive primary and preventive care to everyone, regardless of a person’s ability to pay. Services offered include prenatal care, pediatric care and help managing chronic diseases (high blood pressure, diabetes, asthma, etc.).

ACCESS Services Community Health Network ACCESS operates under a SLIDING SCALE model. This means that it MAY NOT be free depending on your income. You will be required to prove financial need in order to receive free services or services at a reduced cost. This is a health care center funded by the federal government. This means even if you have no insurance you can be covered. The center is also income based for those making an income. This health center can cover services such as checkups, treatment, pregnancy care (where applicable), immunizations and child care (where applicable), prescription medicine and mental and substance abuse where applicable.
Mobile Care Chicago Mobile Care Chicago’s mission is to deliver no-cost medical and preventative care, education, and support to low-income children and families within their native communities aboard mobile medical clinics.
Lawndale Christian Health Center The mission of Lawndale Christian Health Center is to show and share the love of Jesus by promoting wellness and providing quality, affordable healthcare for Lawndale and the neighboring communities. Through our mission, LCHC is working to improve the health of the more than 60,000 patients who have chosen us as their medical home as well as improve the health of the community where we're located.
Alivio Medical Center Alivio is the Spanish word for healing. We are dedicated to providing a wide range of healthcare services, as well as comfort and assistance to our community, all under one roof. Offering primary healthcare services with an emphasis on maternal and child health, Alivio uncompromisingly promotes the care and well-being of mothers, babies and families.
CommunityHealth CommunityHealth is the leader in delivering comprehensive, high-quality, patient-centered health care at no cost to low-income, uninsured adults in need of a medical home.
more...less...
Services: Health & Prevention; Education & Life Skills; Housing & Shelter; Intervention & Support
Chicago Women's Health Center Chicago Women’s Health Center facilitates the empowerment of women and trans people by providing access to health care and health education in a respectful environment where people pay what they can afford.
The Center on Halsted Center on Halsted provides a vast array of programs and services designed to advance Chicago's Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) and allied community. From cooking classes, yoga and volleyball games to job placement, HIV testing and group therapy, we work hard to enrich the lives of the 1,000+ people who visit Center on Halsted every single day.
Metropolitan Family Services An organization that aims to provide and mobilize the services needed to strengthen families and communities.
more...less...
Chicago South Side: Intake Line: 773-371-3642
Chicago North Side: 773-371-3700
DuPage County: 630-784-4800 (Wheaton)
Southwest Suburbs: 708-974-5800 (Blue Island) 708-974-2300 (Palos Hills)
Esperanza Health Centers Esperanza provides bilingual, high quality primary care, behavioral health and wellness services to the community, regardless of immigration status, insurance status, or ability to pay. Our five sites in Brighton Park, Gage Park, Little Village, Marquette Park, and South Lawndale deliver care to over 35,000 patients each year from communities across the Southwest Side.
more...less...
Services: PrEP, Physical Health & Nutrition, Child Wellness, Women Centered, Benefits Counseling, Immigration Physicals
Rincon Family Services Rincon Family Services (RFS), a 501 (c)(3) not-for-profit organization, was established in 1972 by community residents and individuals recovering from substance use on the west side of Chicago. Originally one of the first Latino-focused substance use treatment centers, we have expanded our mission to address the needs of the larger community. With over 50 years of experience, we provide counseling, case management, prevention, and treatment services for both individuals and families across Chicagoland.
more...less...
Substance Abuse, Mental Health, Prevention Services, Rental Assistance, Food Pantry, DUI Services, COVID-19 Education & Prevention
PCC Community Wellness Center The mission of PCC is to improve health outcomes for the medically underserved community through the provision of high-quality, affordable, and accessible primary health care and support services. Anchored with family medicine, we are committed to serving the needs of all people in all stages of life.
more...less...
Primary Care, Behavior Health, Dental, PCC Austin Farm, Community Yoga
Pilsen Wellness Center/Centro Bienestar Pilsen The Pilsen Wellness Center, Inc., serving the Latino community for over 40 years, actively seeks to provide holistic human services to individuals and families through culturally sensitive education, prevention, treatment, and recovery interventions. These services are geared toward supporting family relationships, facilitating community empowerment, and stimulating economic development.
more...less...
Services: Mental Health, Substance Abuse, Youth, Education, DUI, Wellness Pantry

Legal Resources for Undocumented Students

Immigrant Legal Resource Center Promoting a society that respects the rights and welfare of all people, the ILRC works with immigrants, community organizations, and lawyers to advocate for the rights and education of undocumented individuals.
National Immigration Law Center Since 1979, the NILC has advocated for the rights of low-income immigrants through litigation, policy analysis, and communication strategies. The organization also provides training, educational materials, and legal advice.
National Immigration Legal Services Directory This site provides a search tool that allows users to locate free or low-cost legal services dealing with immigration in their area. The directory includes over 900 immigration lawyers in all 50 states.
United We Dream This is the largest immigrant youth-led organization in the country. They offer resources and programs to advocate for further higher education opportunities for undocumented students.

DACA Resources for Undocumented Students

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services: DACA A subset of the Department of Homeland Security, USCIS provides all of the necessary forms for initial application to or renewal of DACA. The site also features helpful videos, filing tips, and articles about avoiding immigration scams.
UC Berkeley: DACA As part of its Undocumented Student Program, Berkeley provides detailed information on DACA requirements and the renewal process. Additionally, the site offers updates on the state of DACA under the Trump administration.
CitizenPath’s DACA Resource Center Featuring the latest news on DACA and other issues concerning undocumented immigrants, CitizenPath’s site also provides helpful tips on the application process as well as guidance for successful enrollees.

Immigration & Citizenship

The U.S. Citizenship & Immigrations Services website offers forms, videos, and a range of resources for citizenship issues.

U.S. Citizenship

ACLU Immigrants' Rights

Founded in 1987, the ACLU Immigrants' Rights Project is dedicated to expanding and enforcing the civil liberties and civil rights of non-citizens and to combating public and private discrimination against immigrants. To find out more, please see About the ACLU's Immigrants' Rights Project.

ACLU's Immigrants' Rights Project :Includes information on relevant cases, news, blogs, legal documents, multimedia, and more.
Immigration Myths & Facts
Issue Brief: Prolonged Immigration Detention of Individuals Who Are Challenging Removal

Immigrant Legal Resource Center

The Immigrant Legal Resource Center (ILRC) is a national non-profit resource center that provides legal trainings, educational materials, and advocacy to advance immigrant rights. The mission of the ILRC is to work with and educate immigrants, community organizations, and the legal sector to continue to build a democratic society that values diversity and the rights of all people.

Know Your Rights, Community Resources for Immigrants, Civic Participation Packet, Living in the U.S. Guide, Immigration Fraud Awareness, and DREAM Act

Volunteering/Activism

11 Must-Read Books for Volunteering & Social Good Looking to learn more about volunteering, activism, and creating social change? Add these books to your reading list to learn more about the different ways you can use your time to help others and create social good.
Change.org The stated mission of Change.org is "to build an international network of people empowered to fight for what's right locally, nationally, and globally."
Chicago Freedom School Through youth programs and trainings, we equip young people and adult allies with the tools develop actionable strategies for social change.
more...less...
Founded in 2007, CFS creates new generations of critical thinkers who use their unique experiences and power to create a just world. Inspired by the Mississippi Freedom Schools of the Civil Rights Era, CFS takes an innovative approach to youth activism, leadership development, and movement building.
DoSomething.org: Volunteer for Social Change Largest organization for social change volunteers and community service, with 6000000 members and counting.
Greenpeace International List of simple ‘what you can do right now’ actions that make a difference as well as information about the organization.
Idealist.org "The world's best place to find volunteer opportunities, nonprofit jobs, internships, and organizations working to change the world since 1995."
National Political Index Provides an index of substantive political information for voters, political activists, political consultants, lobbyists, politicians, academicians, and media editors.
PolicyLink National nonprofit research, communications, capacity building, and advocacy organization working to advance economic and social equity in the U.S.
Social Psychology Network Searchable index of social activism resources for animal rights, environment, politics, AIDS education, hunger, homelessness, LBGT, civil rights, and more.
SpeakOut Private online opinion research company that provides market research, focus group and political polls online. Includes links to activism centers for abortion, animal rights, death penalty, education, environment, gay rights, gun control, napster, race/ethnicity, religion, and technology issues.
Freedom Activist Network Searchable index of individuals, organizations and events relating to many types of social issues.

Chicago Public Library

Summer Job: One Summer Chicago

One Summer Chicago
Apply Now! Deadline May 1st!
Connecting Youth to a Successful Future
with a Summer Job in One Summer Chicago brings together
government institutions, community-based organizations and companies
to offer over 31,000 employment and internship opportunities
to youth and young adults ages 14 to 24.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Achieving College Excellence (ACE)

Health

Helpful Phone Numbers

Mental Health

LGBTQIA+ Resources

Prenatal/Parenting