This guide will help you navigate research in political science, with a focus on research design, methodologies, data sources, and citations.
Political science research asks empirical questions—questions that can be answered with evidence. Your project should:
Define a clear research question.
Review existing literature.
Propose a theory or hypothesis.
Select appropriate methods and data sources.
Explain how evidence will be analyzed.
The library catalog is a great place to start your research. Here are some tips to make searching more effective:
Make sure that you sign in. This allows you to see your access options for library materials, save searches, set notifications on saved searches, and save items to your favorites.
Start by identifying the main concepts and any potential synonyms or related terms. For the topic of affordable housing, you might use:
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine keywords effectively:
Use Library Catalog and Databases (JSTOR, Project MUSE, Political Science Complete, ProQuest Political Science).
Look for literature reviews (e.g., Annual Review of Political Science) to understand existing debates.
Government documents, treaties, constitutions, laws.
Speeches, interviews, archival collections.
Survey data, polling results, media coverage.
World Bank Data, UN Data, Pew Research Center, Eurobarometer, ANES (American National Election Studies).
Chicago Area Resources: archival methods and special collections UChicago Political Science methods tools
Think tanks (Brookings, RAND, Cato, Carnegie).
NGO reports.
White papers and working papers.
Before you start your search consider:
Search or browse the USA.gov departments and agency index to identify the department or agency collects data on your topic. Agencies publish data on their websites under pages titled "library," "resources," "our work," or "research."
Browse Census Bureau topics and subtopics to help find the information you need.
**Since January 20, 2025, some federal agency data and reports were removed or altered from government webpages. Please contact a librarian if you cannot find the data you are looking for.*
Qualitative approaches focus on depth over breadth. They allow you to uncover processes, meanings, and mechanisms in ways that numbers alone cannot.
Case studies & process tracing – Intensive study of one or a few cases (countries, policies, events), often with detailed historical or documentary evidence. Process tracing tracks cause-and-effect sequences within a case.
When viable: Useful for “why” and “how” questions—e.g., Why does the UN intervene in some crises but not others?
Strengths: Deep contextual knowledge; shows causal mechanisms, not just correlations.
Limitations: Hard to generalize widely; depends on rich evidence.
Ethnography & participant observation – Immersive fieldwork, where the researcher observes or participates in the daily lives of political actors.
When viable: Questions about lived experiences, identities, or practices—e.g., How do NGOs in South Africa protect immigrant children?
Strengths: Rich, ground-level insight; uncovers perspectives often missing in surveys.
Limitations: Time-intensive; may raise ethical and access challenges.
Elite interviews & focus groups – Semi-structured interviews with decision-makers, officials, or citizens; group discussions to explore attitudes.
When viable: Studying policy processes, insider decision-making, or public opinion formation—e.g., Do variations in Congressional staff salaries affect casework responsiveness?
Strengths: Access to insider knowledge; captures nuance.
Limitations: Risk of bias in self-reporting; requires careful design and consent.
Case Studies and Theory Development in the Social Sciences
by
Winner of the 2006 Giovanni Sartori Book Award, given by the American Political Science Association's Qualitative Methods Section. The use of case studies to build and test theories in political science and the other social sciences has increased in recent years. Many scholars have argued that the social sciences rely too heavily on quantitative research and formal models and have attempted to develop and refine rigorous methods for using case studies. This text presents a comprehensive analysis of research methods using case studies and examines the place of case studies in social science methodology. It argues that case studies, statistical methods, and formal models are complementary rather than competitive. The book explains how to design case study research that will produce results useful to policymakers and emphasizes the importance of developing policy-relevant theories. It offers three major contributions to case study methodology: an emphasis on the importance of within-case analysis, a detailed discussion of process tracing, and development of the concept of typological theories. Case Studies and Theory Development in the Social Scienceswill be particularly useful to graduate students and scholars in social science methodology and the philosophy of science, as well as to those designing new research projects, and will contribute greatly to the broader debate about scientific methods.
Qualitative Interviewing
by
Using in-depth qualitative interviews, authors Herbert J. Rubin and Irene S. Rubin have researched topics ranging from community redevelopment programs to the politics of budgeting and been energized by the depth, thoroughness, and credibility of what was revealed. They describe in-depth qualitative interviewing from beginning to end, from its underlying philosophy and assumptions to project design, analysis and write up. "This book is exactly what I was looking for in that it covers interviewing and analysis in depth."--Daphne John, Oberlin College "Students leave this book fully informed of the nuances and complexity of interviewing as well as excited about the promise interview research findings offer."--Hannah Britton, University of Kansas "The authors′ focus on the reflective process, question development, and procedural steps associated with qualitative research is rich and thorough."--Tracy M. Lara, Kent State University
Quantitative approaches emphasize breadth and generalization, drawing on large datasets and statistical techniques.
Survey design & analysis – Collecting and analyzing responses to structured questions from a sample of people.
When viable: Questions about attitudes, behavior, or perceptions—e.g., Does negative advertising increase or decrease voter turnout?
Strengths: Standardized, comparable data; can be generalized with proper sampling.
Limitations: Expensive; quality depends on question wording and response rates.
Statistical models – Using datasets to test hypotheses about correlations or causal relationships.
When viable: Macro-level questions with measurable variables
Strengths: Can analyze many cases; allows causal inference with controls.
Limitations: Risk of poor data quality, assumptions must be transparent.
Experiments – field and lab designs, including randomized control trials
Combining case studies with statistical data (Lieberman’s nested analysis).
When viable: Research that requires both broad patterns and deep causal explanation—e.g., Does female political representation improve social outcomes? (Quantitative cross-national dataset + qualitative case studies).
Strengths: Balances generalizability and depth; identifies patterns and mechanisms.
Limitations: Time- and resource-intensive.
Sequential designs: using qualitative findings to refine quantitative models.
When viable: Questions where one dataset/method cannot fully capture the phenomenon—e.g., How do stereotypes of Appalachia shape policymaking? (Content analysis of media + surveys of policy preferences).
Strengths: Triangulation improves credibility; flexible.
Limitations: Demands skill in multiple methods.
Doing Research in Political Science
by
Students of political science will welcome this accessible introduction to methods and statistics. The authors introduce the main theories and methodologies employed from across the social sciences in understanding and doing comparative political research. They outline the importance of the relationship of theory and method to empirical analytical research; introduce both basic descriptive and advanced multivariate and explanatory statistical techniques; and demonstrate the application of these methods and techniques to a number of research questions drawn from contemporary themes and issues in political science. Incorporating summary questions, practice exercises, glossary and further reading sections throughout, Doing Research in Political Science provides an invaluable step by step guide to doing political research.
Social Media, Sociality, and Survey Research
by
Provides the knowledge and tools needed for the future of survey research The survey research discipline faces unprecedented challenges, such as falling response rates, inadequate sampling frames, and antiquated approaches and tools. Addressing this changing landscape, Social Media, Sociality, and Survey Research introduces readers to a multitude of new techniques in data collection in one of the fastest developing areas of survey research. The book is organized around the central idea of a "sociality hierarchy" in social media interactions, comprised of three levels: broadcast, conversational, and community based. Social Media, Sociality, and Survey Research offers balanced coverage of the theory and practice of traditional survey research, while providing a conceptual framework for the opportunities social media platforms allow. Demonstrating varying perspectives and approaches to working with social media, the book features: New ways to approach data collection using platforms such as Facebook and Twitter Alternate methods for reaching out to interview subjects Design features that encourage participation with engaging, interactive surveys Social Media, Sociality, and Survey Research is an important resource for survey researchers, market researchers, and practitioners who collect and analyze data in order to identify trends and draw reliable conclusions in the areas of business, sociology, psychology, and population studies. The book is also a useful text for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level courses on survey methodology and market research.
Doing Feminist Research in Political and Social Science
by
This extremely innovative interdisciplinary text guides the reader through the research process from research design through to analysis and presentation while at the same time introducing the range of debates, challenges and tools that feminists use in their research around the world.
Theory and Methods in Political Science
by
A broad-ranging and pluralistic textbook which highlights the rich variety of approaches to studying politics. Written by an international team of experts, this fully revised fourth edition offers cutting-edge coverage from fundamental to contemporary issues. Integrating guides to further reading and clear examples of how research methods can be applied, it enables readers to feel confident about taking their study of politics forward. An ideal foundation for study and research in political science, this textbook will be essential to students at any stage of their degree. It serves as core reading on undergraduate and postgraduate political analysis, theory and methods courses. In demonstrating how independent research is undertaken in political science, the book allows students and early career researchers to begin thinking about formulating their own research agendas. This new edition: - Leads the way with fresh new ideas and perspectives with the help of new co-editor Vivien Lowndes - Includes new chapters on post-structuralism as a theoretical approach and on 'big data' as a methodological resource - Offers an international perspective on political science, with discussion of global as well as domestic politics and a range of international cases and examples.
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research
by
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research, Second Edition presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview of the field of qualitative research. Divided into eight parts, the forty chapters address key topics in the field such as approaches to qualitative research (philosophical perspectives), narrative inquiry, field research, and interview methods, text, arts-based, and internet methods, analysis and interpretation of findings, and representation and evaluation. The handbook is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the disciplines, and the contributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchers as well as emerging scholars. This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the most experienced researchers. It serves as a user-friendly teaching tool suitable for a range of undergraduate or graduate courses, as well as individuals working on their thesis or other research projects. With a focus on methodological instruction, the incorporation of real-world examples and practical applications, and ample coverage of writing and representation, this volume offers everything readers need to undertake their own qualitative studies.
The Philosophy and Methods of Political Science
by
This original account of the role of philosophy and methodology in political science gets back to the basics of studying politics. Cutting through long-standing controversies across different theoretical camps within the discipline, Dowding provides an innovative and pluralistic argument for the benefits and drawbacks of different approaches. He offers an analysis of, and a counterbalance to, debates over causal explanation, defending a scientific realist perspective that is open to entirely different methods. Following an introduction to the major 'isms' of modern political science and international relations, the book takes an incisive look at the nature of explanations and generalizations, theory testing, mechanisms, causation, process tracing, interpretation and conceptual analysis. It enables students of political science methodologies and related disciplines to apply sharp analysis and in-depth philosophical understanding to their study of political events and structures. Concluding with chapters on normative political philosophy and the vocation of the political scientist, this is a thought-provoking and wide-ranging text that will make essential reading and will undoubtedly shape the field.
Paradigms and Sand Castles
by
Paradigms and Sand Castles demonstrates the relationship between thoughtful research design and the collection of persuasive evidence in support of theory. It teaches the craft of research through interesting and carefully selected examples from the field of comparative development studies. Barbara Geddes is Professor of Political Science at the University of California, Los Angeles.
Political Science Research in the Middle East and North Africa
by
In conducting political science research today, one's methodology is of paramount concern. Yet, despite the obvious chasm between theory and practice that all scholars experience in the field, there are no specific guidebooks on meeting the methodological and ethical challenges that fieldwork presents. Political Science Research in the Middle East and North Africa helps fill this vacuum, focusing specifically on doing research in the one of the most important regions in contemporary world politics. Janine A. Clark and Francesco Cavatorta have gathered together a large and diverse group of researchers who study the region and focus on methodological "lessons learned" from their first hand experiences of employing a variety of research methods while conducting fieldwork. The contributors also look at the challenges of conducting field research in a variety of contexts, such as in areas of violence, and using research methods such as interviewing and ethnography. This volume will therefore be an invaluable companion book to more standard methods books and a useful tool, not just for Middle East scholars, but for all researchers conducting research in complex settings.
Handbook of Research Methods in International Relations
by
Drawing together international experts on research methods in International Relations (IR), this Handbook answers the complex practical questions for those approaching a new research topic for the first time. Innovative in its approach, it considers the art of IR research as well as the science, offering diverse perspectives on current research methods and emerging developments in the field. Empirical chapters are split into five distinct parts guiding the reader through the research process, covering the key topics including scope and methods, concepts, data and techniques and tools and applications. Highlighting the wide-ranging differences in the topic, the illustrative case studies and research models also provide guidance on how and when to use these tools, including how to evaluate research at the start and end of projects. Furthermore, it examines how to publish research and provides advice on how to manage a research team. This informative read will provide an excellent resource for established researchers taking on new projects, rethinking their approach to IR or those interested in learning new methods. Students and scholars of international politics and public policy as well as social scientists will also find this illuminating and instructive.
The SAGE Handbook of Research Methods in Political Science and International Relations
by
The SAGE Handbook of Research Methods in Political Science and International Relations offers a comprehensive overview of research processes in social science -- from the ideation and design of research projects, through the construction of theoretical arguments, to conceptualization, measurement, & data collection, and quantitative & qualitative empirical analysis -- exposited through 65 major new contributions from leading international methodologists. Each chapter surveys, builds upon, and extends the modern state of the art in its area. Following through its six-part organization, undergraduate and graduate students, researchers and practicing academics will be guided through the design, methods, and analysis of issues in Political Science and International Relations: Part One: Formulating Good Research Questions & Designing Good Research Projects Part Two: Methods of Theoretical Argumentation Part Three: Conceptualization & Measurement Part Four: Large-Scale Data Collection & Representation Methods Part Five: Quantitative-Empirical Methods Part Six: Qualitative & "Mixed" Methods
Multi-Method Social Science
by
Reflecting the rising popularity of research that combines qualitative and quantitative social science, Multi-Method Social Science provides the first systematic guide to designing multi-method research. It argues that methods can be productively combined using the framework of integrative multi-method research, with one method used to carry out a final causal inference, and methods from other traditions used to test the key assumptions involved in that causal inference. In making this argument, Jason Seawright considers a wide range of statistical tools including regression, matching, and natural experiments. The book also discusses qualitative tools including process tracing, the use of causal process observations, and comparative case study research. Along the way, the text develops over a dozen multi-method designs to test key assumptions about social science causation.
Case Studies and Theory Development in the Social Sciences
by
The use of case studies to build and test theories in political science and the other social sciences has increased in recent years. Many scholars have argued that the social sciences rely too heavily on quantitative research and formal models and have attempted to develop and refine rigorous methods for using case studies. This text presents a comprehensive analysis of research methods using case studies and examines the place of case studies in social science methodology. It argues that case studies, statistical methods, and formal models are complementary rather than competitive. The book explains how to design case study research that will produce results useful to policymakers and emphasizes the importance of developing policy-relevant theories. It offers three major contributions to case study methodology- an emphasis on the importance of within-case analysis, a detailed discussion of process tracing, and development of the concept of typological theories. Case Studies and Theory Development in the Social Sciences will be particularly useful to graduate students and scholars in social science methodology and the philosophy of science, as well as to those designing new research projects, and will contribute greatly to the broader debate about scientific methods.
Stories from the Field
by
What do you do if you get stuck in an elevator in Mogadishu? How worried should you be about being followed after an interview with a ring of human traffickers in Lebanon? What happens to your research if you get placed on a government watchlist? And what if you find yourself feeling like you just aren't cut out for fieldwork? Stories from the Field is a relatable, thoughtful, and unorthodox guide to field research in political science. It features personal stories from working political scientists: some funny, some dramatic, all fascinating and informative. Political scientists from a diverse range of biographical and academic backgrounds describe research in North and South America, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East, ranging from archival work to interviews with combatants. In sharing their stories, the book's forty-four contributors provide accessible illustrations of key concepts, including specific research methods like conducting surveys and interviews, practical questions of health and safety, and general principles such as the importance of flexibility, creativity, and interpersonal connections. The contributors reflect not only on their own experiences but also on larger questions about research ethics, responsibility, and the effects of their personal and professional identities on their fieldwork. Stories from the Field is an essential resource for graduate and advanced undergraduate students learning about field research methods, as well as established scholars contemplating new journeys into the field.
Interview Research in Political Science
by
Interviews are a frequent and important part of empirical research in political science, but graduate programs rarely offer discipline-specific training in selecting interviewees, conducting interviews, and using the data thus collected. Interview Research in Political Science addresses this vital need, offering hard-won advice for both graduate students and faculty members. The contributors to this book have worked in a variety of field locations and settings and have interviewed a wide array of informants, from government officials to members of rebel movements and victims of wartime violence, from lobbyists and corporate executives to workers and trade unionists. The authors encourage scholars from all subfields of political science to use interviews in their research, and they provide a set of lessons and tools for doing so. The book addresses how to construct a sample of interviewees; how to collect and report interview data; and how to address ethical considerations and the Institutional Review Board process. Other chapters discuss how to link interview-based evidence with causal claims; how to use proxy interviews or an interpreter to improve access; and how to structure interview questions. A useful appendix contains examples of consent documents, semistructured interview prompts, and interview protocols.
Advances in Experimental Political Science
by
Experimental political science has changed. In two short decades, it evolved from an emergent method to an accepted method to a primary method. The challenge now is to ensure that experimentalists design sound studies and implement them in ways that illuminate cause and effect. Ethical boundaries must also be respected, results interpreted in a transparent manner, and data and research materials must be shared to ensure others can build on what has been learned. This book explores the application of new designs; the introduction of novel data sources, measurement approaches, and statistical methods; the use of experiments in more substantive domains; and discipline-wide discussions about the robustness, generalizability, and ethics of experiments in political science. By exploring these novel opportunities while also highlighting the concomitant challenges, this volume enables scholars and practitioners to conduct high-quality experiments that will make key contributions to knowledge.
A Companion to Political Philosophy. Methods, Tools, Topics
by
This book offers a comprehensive overview of the key concepts and issues of contemporary political philosophy, providing an essential reference work for scholars and advanced students. It is structured in three parts, covering methodological issues; tools and argumentative strategies employed by political philosophy; and concepts and topics key to the discipline. Expert authors from around the world have written twenty chapters in a consistent and engaging style. Each chapter is thoroughly cross-referenced allowing students to appreciate how methodological issues relate to each other, and how methodology and argumentative tools affect the way substantial issues are addressed. The chapters are supplemented by further reading lists and selected bibliographies to aid further research. The companion will be required reading for masters and post-doctoral students, providing them with the appropriate tools for approaching political philosophy in a more thoughtful way, and showing how substantive topics are addressed within different perspectives and paradigms. The companion also provides upper-level undergraduates with a sophisticated introduction to the relevant problems and challenges political philosophy addresses.
Research Design in Political Science
by
When embarking on a new research project students face the same core research design issues. This volume provides readers with practical guidelines for both qualitative and quantitative designs, discusses the typical trade-offs involved in choosing them and is rich in examples from actual research.
