LibGuides: Political Science: Statistical Sources

Statistics Reference Work

Statistics Sources by Paul Wasserman, ed.
Call Number: Z 7551 .S84

ISBN: 0787688665

A very useful directory of sources of statistical information, organized alphabetically by subject, including by country name. 2 volumes (1: A-K; 2: L-Z)

Statistical Data Sources

Historical Statistics of the United States
Full-text datasets and statistical sources on topics related to the history of the United States.
ICPSR Data Access
Archive of social science data for research and instruction in social sciences, education, health sciences, and business. Please login with your LUC email to download reports.
Roper Center
Comprehensive collection of social sciences data sets and public opinion poll data with results. Coverage 1930 - present.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Data sets and statistical sources from the United States government covering American history, demographics, and census data.

Geospatial Data Sources

Explore Census Data
Data covering the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. Includes, population, economic, housing, and geographic information. Coverage: 2000 - present.
Sanborn Maps of Illinois
Digitized maps of most cities and towns in Illinois. Coverage: 1867 - 1970.
SimplyAnalytics
A mapping, analytics, and data visualization app with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census back to 1980, and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing detailed information on over 20 million businesses. The premium MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset includes data on over 8,000 brands, hobbies, media habits, sports, psychographics, and MOSAIC market segments. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created.

Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Social Explorer
Digitized maps and census data related to demographic information in the U.S. Coverage: 1790 - 2000. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Data.gov Geospatial portal
Explore geospatial data and resources, including an interactive map of submerged land information, maps of air quality across the U.S., data on water resources, and more.
NASA Visible Earth
A catalog of NASA images and animations of our home planet.
National Transportation Atlas Database
The National Transportation Atlas Database is a set of nationwide geographic databases of transportation facilities, transportation networks, and associated infrastructure. These datasets include spatial information for transportation modal networks and intermodal terminals, as well as the related attribute information for these features.

Broad Use Statistics Sites

The following sites provide statistical data for a broad range of research interests.

Explore Census Data (also known as data.census.gov)
A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan, nonadvocacy fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
Pew Charitable Trusts
One of the world's most widely respected independent nonprofit and nongovernmental organizations. Reports and collected data are created for studies of the environment, human health, policy, media, journalism, education, and elections.
United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
United States Census
The largest repository of demographics and statistics for and about the United States.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstract Database
Collection of resources offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Coverage: 1901 - present.
Passport GMID

Access to a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.

Provided by the Terry Fund.

African Development Bank Group: AfDB
ESTA also develops and manages databases on economic, social and development cooperation statistics in Africa in collaboration with the Bank’s regional member countries as well as regional and international agencies such as the ECA, the IMF, the OECD, the UN, and the World Bank. This makes the AfDB the primary source of relevant, reliable and timely data on African development processes, starting with the data generated from its current management of the Africa component of the International Comparison Program (ICP-Africa).
Eurostat: statistics on Europe.
Eurostat's mission: to be the leading provider of high quality statistics on Europe. Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
The General Social Survey (GSS)
The General Social Survey (GSS) conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor societal change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations.
The World Bank's Open Data initiative
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data, according to the Open Data Terms of Use. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resourcesThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Data sets and statistical sources from the United States government covering American history, demographics, and census data.