ITS: Digital Media Services
Information Technology Services (ITS) offers services like equipment loan for course or personal use, reservation of studios and recording rooms, and much more.
SOC: OWL Lab
the School of Communication (SOC) has an equipment lab for students to check-out equipment through as well. Equipment is currently only available for students enrolled in a SOC production course.
Documentaries, independent and classic feature films, educational videos, and award-winning films and shorts. Distributors include PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and more.
Some titles come with full Public Performance Rights. To enable closed captions or subtitles while watching a film, select the CC icon in the bottom-right corner of the video player. Accounts must be renewed yearly on campus and using a browser, rather than the app.
Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
Feature films and documentaries spanning a number of genres from major studios such as Paramount, Universal, Warner Bros. and more. Films include cinema classics and contemporary films. This is a faculty curated collection. Titles are available upon request. You can browse the full selection of titles to add here.
Titles do not come with Public Performance Rights. To enable closed captions or subtitles while watching a film, select the wheel icon in the bottom-right corner of the video player.
Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources.
Videos and audio covering a wide variety of subjects. Individual collections include Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.
Documentary, independent, educational videos and films on a wide range of topics related to social issues, sustainability, the environment and more. Titles are available upon request. Requests should be submitted to Audio Visual services at: http://libraries.luc.edu/avpurchase.
Documentary films with a focus on social and political issues. A wide range of topics are covered including anthropology, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, and literature. Coverage: 1980s-2017.
Independent feature films and short films. Distributors include Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. Coverage: 1990 - present.
A searchable library of commercials, ad campaigns of all media types and a directory of advertising and marketing agencies. Also includes case studies, advertising awards information, industry news, and job resources. Coverage: 2000 - present. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
Bibliographies focused on cinema and media studies including film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image.
Documentaries, feature films, interviews, and archival footage exploring the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Topics include LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, and religious perspectives on homosexuality. Coverage: 1920s - present.
