Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books by
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (PN1009 .A1 L545 2010
A to Zoo, a subject index to picture books, fiction, and nonfiction for preschool through grade two, covers nearly 23,000 titles. The book is divided into five sections: "Subject Headings," "Subject Guide," "Bibliographic Guide," "Title Index," and "Illustrator Index." There is also a preface, which contains concise directions for using the book.
Best Books for Children: Preschool Through Grade 6 by
Call Number: Lewis Reference (6th Floor) Z1037 .G48 2006
This book is intended to support the school curriculum as well as to suggest recreational reading. It also provides assistance for collection evaluation and development. Organized by subject groups and grades, each entry is numbered, which makes it easy to move from index to item. Each entry includes author, illustrator (if pertinent), title, grade span, year, publisher, price, ISBN, number of pages, brief annotation, review citations, and Dewey number if applicable. Books in series and award winners are noted. The separate author and illustrator indexes have been merged into a single index.
Best Books for Middle School and Junior High Readers, Grades 6-9 by
Call Number: Lewis Reference (6th Floor) Z1037.G482 2004
This thematic work covers over 14,000 titles, the majority published between late 1999 and 2003, plus earlier classics. Most of these have been recommended in at least two sources. A state-of-the-art reading guide and selection tool for young teen reading material, both fiction and nonfiction.
Best Books for High School Readers : Grades 9-12 by
Call Number: Lewis Reference (6th Floor) Z1037 .G4816 2004
This thorough and comprehensive reference lists about 12,788 recommended fiction and nonfiction books for children in grades nine to 12, drawn from a variety of book review journals.
Curriculum Trends: A Reference Handbook by
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1570 .J33 2003
Curriculum Trends: A Reference Handbook presents the most expansive, up-to-date survey of curriculum development in the United States, ranging from its history and the origins of the cry for higher standards, to societal influences on schools and the legal challenges they face today.
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies by
Call Number: LB2806.15 .E48 2010 (Lewis Reference, 6th Fl.)
The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator. This two-volume set serves to inform and to introduce terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts to assist the reader in understanding aspects of this rapidly changing, expansive, and contested field of study.
Encyclopedia of Information Technology Curriculum Integration by
Call Number: LB1028.3 .E63 2008 (Lewis Reference, 6th Fl.)
The Encyclopedia of Information Technology Curriculum Integration amasses a comprehensive resource of concepts, methodologies, models, architectures, applications, enabling technologies, and best practices for integrating technology into the curriculum at all levels of education. Compiling over 150 articles from the world s leading experts on information technology, this authoritative reference strives to supply innovative research aimed at improving academic achievement, teaching and learning, and the application of technology in schools and training environments.
Picture This : Picture Books for Young Adults: A Curriculum-related Annotated Bibliography by
Call Number: Lewis Reference, 6th Floor PN 1009 .A1 M378 1997
This bibliography introduces 424 titles selected for their "sophisticated content," such as David Wiesner's June 29, 1999, Mark Shannon's Gawain and the Green Knight, and Ann Turner's Nettie's Trip South. It is organized according to curriculum-content areas-the arts, health, literature, mathematics, science, and social sciences and history. Each annotation lists bibliographic information, summarizes the book, discusses artistic style and mediums employed, suggests companion titles, and provides ideas for classroom use.
Response to Intervention Models: Curricular Implications and Interventions by
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks (9th floor) LC4705 .H67 2011
Designed as a blueprint for improving abilities and to provide research-based curriculum and evidence-based interventions to all K-12 learners, this book empowers educators to select, implement, differentiate and evaluate the curricula and interventions necessary to meet the needs of all learners.
Turning Points in Curriculum: A Contemporary American Memoir by
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks LB1570 .M36684 2007
Presenting a historic and contemporary look at curriculum's journey–from its conceptualization in 1947 to present–this innovative work combines intellectual commentary, impressionistic portraiture, parallel tales, interviews, and excerpted scholarly materials to create a living history of the curriculum field. Unique in approach, it uses rich narrative, primary sources and thoughtful discussion to reveal the complex issues and dynamic conversations that have shaped major turning points in American curriculum. It is a book that chronicles contemporary curriculum and invites readers to identify with and ultimately participate in this important field of intellectual study.
What Your Kindergartner Needs to Know: Preparing Your Child for a Lifetime of Learning by
Call Number: LB 1180 .D65 1996 (Lewis Reference, 6th Fl.)
Based on E.D. Hirsch's realization that much of the decline in America's educational standards has occurred because vague "skills," not information, are taught in the primary grades, it emphasizes fundamental knowledge in math, science, art, history, language arts, geography, and technology. E.D. Hirsch and the staff of the Core Knowledge Foundation worked with more than two thousand parents and teachers to create a book that children will enjoy while they learn.
What Your First Grader Needs to Know: Fundamentals of a Good First-Grade Education by
Call Number: LB 1571 1st .W53 1997 (Lewis Reference, 6th Fl.)
What will your child be expected to learn in the first grade? How can you help him or her at home? How can teachers foster active, successful learning in the classroom? This book answers these all-important questions and more, offering the specific shared knowledge that hundreds of parents and teachers across the nation have agreed upon for American first graders. Revised and updated, filled with a wealth of opportunities for reading aloud and fostering discussion, this first-grade volume of the acclaimed Core Knowledge Series presents the sort of knowledge and skills that should be at the core of a challenging first-grade education.
What Your Third Grader Needs to Know: Fundamentals of a Good Third-Grade Education by
Call Number: LB1571 .W47 2001 (Lewis Reference, 6th Fl.)
What should your student learn in the third grade? How can you help him or her at home? This book answers these important questions and more, offering the specific shared knowledge that thousands of parents and teachers across the nation have agreed upon for American third graders.
What Your Fourth Grader Needs to Know: Fundamentals of A Good Fourth-Grade Education by
Call Number: LB1571 4th .W48 2004 (Lewis Reference, 6th Fl.)
Hirsch presents the basic backbone of a fourth grade curriculum in language arts, history and geography, visual arts, music, math and science. The content reaches far, mixing the standard signposts of an elementary education with a new focus on understanding the world beyond American shores. This compendium sketches a coherent and creative curriculum that students, parents, and teachers will find especially engaging in this era of education reform.
What Your Fifth Grader Needs to Know: Fundamentals of a Good Fifth-Grade Education by
Call Number: LB1571 5th .W43 2005 (Lewis Reference, 6th Fl.)
What Your Fifth Grader Needs to Know covers the basics of language arts, history and geography, visual arts, music, math, and science. A collection of American speeches, tales from around the world, math problems, and biographies of famous scientists add to the book’s usefulness.
What Your Sixth Grader Needs to Know by
Call Number: LB1571 6th .W43 2006 (Lewis Reference, 6th Fl.)
What should your student learn in the sixth grade? How can you help him or her at home? This book answers these important questions and more, offering the specific shared knowledge that thousands of parents and teachers across the nation have agreed upon for American sixth graders.