Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the LGBTQ/Queer Studies Research Guide!
LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer) Studies is an ever-growing field that found a home at Loyola through the Women's Studies and Gender Studies program. In the last few years, WSGS has added classes in Queer Theory, Masculinity Studies and Transgender Studies, but many courses remain interdisciplinary, looking at LGBTQ issues in the context of psychology, sociology, theology, law, etc. This guide serves as an entry point to resources for research in LGBTQ Studies and the cross-listed disciplines here at Loyola. It also provides information on local LGBTQ resources both on-campus and in Chicago and links to popular LGBTQ organizations and news that we hope will prove helpful for all our LGBTQ students and allies at Loyola.
Getting Started: Reference Sources
Reference sources are authoritative sources information designed to provide overviews, definitions, facts, etc. about a subject - you use them to look up information rather than reading them cover to cover. They are an excellent starting point that help researchers learn about their topics before delving into them in more detail. Reference sources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, etc.
General Reference Sources
Consists of a fully searchable and browse-able, authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, and articles not found in the print Britannica.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference Online
Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online)
This e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.
Provided by Dictionary.com, has over 3 million synonyms and antonyms and the ability to filter search results by relevance, word length, and complexity.
LGBTQ Studies Reference Sources
LGBTQ America Today: An Encyclopedia
This book gives students and general readers a current guide to the people and issues at the forefront of contemporary LGBTQ America. Included are more than 600 alphabetically arranged entries on literature and the arts, associations and organizations, individuals, law and public policy concerns, health and relationships, sexual issues, and numerous other topics.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Provides users with a “gender lens” on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more.
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia
A first-of-its-kind reference, detailing developments in the growing field of men’s studies. This seminal book opened new vistas for exploration and research into American History, society, and culture.