A known item is an information source (book, journal, article, video, website, etc.) that a library user already knows something about and is trying to locate. If the library user has helpful bibliographic details about a source (title, author, etc.), finding the known item should be relatively easy. Searching for a known item becomes more challenging, however, when bibliographic details are vague. In these situations, it is important to consider which database(s) and search techniques might be most helpful in locating the desired resource.

• I'm looking for a book of poems by Neil Gaiman. 
• There was an art exhibit at the MCA by something called "The Propeller Group" and I think they have a book out. Do you guys have it? 
• I'm searching for something called "The Living Need Light, the Dead Need Music." It's a video, I think. Can you check to see if we have it? 

When starting your search for a known item it is best to begin with the library catalog (called Primo). If you do not find what you are looking for in Primo, try to match the item you are looking for with search tools (databases, journals, search engines, etc.) that you think would be well suited to finding the known item.

• The A-Z Database List has a sidebar on the right side of the screen that lists the most popular subscription databases

  • To search for databases by subject, click on the All Subjects drop-down menu and select a subject

If you are not sure which search tools to use or the ones you used did not locate the known item, check research guides that might be related to the known item to see what resources subject specialists have recommended.

Experimenting with each search tool's advanced search features and filters is also encouraged. For example, note how quickly Primo locates a book of poetry by Neil Gaiman when you use its advanced-search features, searching by author's name, Neil Gaiman, AND the subject poetry. Searching for a known item is more of an art than a science, and with a combination of persistence and creativity, you should be able to locate most of the known items you are seeking.

Primo (the LUC library catalog)

Typically, your search should start with the library catalog. Theoretically, any item that is accessible through Loyola Libraries should be discoverable through the catalog.

WorldCat 

Use WorldCat when you are having trouble finding books in the library catalog. For book searches, this should be your second option if you've reached a dead end in Primo.

Google and/or Amazon

For a variety of reasons, there are times when a book or other resource will not show up in Primo or WorldCat. Before you abandon the search for the item, it may be worthwhile to check Google or Amazon as they may locate the item under a different title, under an alternate author name or spelling, etc. 

Journals

When searching for articles in Primo, you may run into a situation where an article you think we should have access to is not accessible. In this case, you may want to go directly to the journal in which the article is published. Use the "Journals" link to search journal titles.

Google Scholar and/or Academic Search Complete

Primo searches many databases, although it does not search every database subscribed to by Loyola. If you are unable to find an article in Primo a good next step is to search with Academic Search Complete and/or Google Scholar. More information on searching in Academic Search Complete is available here. More information on searching on Google Scholar and other Google search tools can be found here.