Research Guides: Modern Languages: Databases

Getting to Know Your Topic

Reference sources--like dictionaries and subject encyclopedias--provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas. They can also provide definitions, statistics and other details. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, find data to support your thesis and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms.

Gale's Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Index to every literary series published by Gale.
Combines and cross references author names including pseudonyms and variant names and sources into one source.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of full-text reference ebooks.

Most Used Resources

Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Bibliography on Latin America, edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage: 1936 - present.
Hispanic American Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean, including the political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. Coverage: late 1960s - present.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
Bibliography of the European middle ages c.400-1500. Entries are drawn from the regular coverage of over 4,000 periodicals and from 5,000 miscellaneous volumes, (conference proceedings, essay collections and Festschriften.)
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
A bibliography of 250,000+ articles and reviews drawn from 400+ medieval and renaissance journals. Plus a growing bibliography of monographs pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700)

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index with some abstracts and some full-text journal articles, books, series, translations, and dissertations on the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Includes. Coverage: 1900s - present.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Open-access to Spanish historical texts and literature of Spanish and Latin American writers.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Modern Languages

Chat with Us

Getting to Know Your Topic

Most Used Resources

Other Article Databases for Modern Languages