Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women & Politics Around the World
These volumes fill a gap in existing literature on women and politics by presenting a unique cross-national perspective, as well as by providing analysis of issues that cross borders and other traditional boundaries used in political analysis.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory
Examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.
Europa World Year Book
First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Premier source of information on government, politics and public policy.Each issue contains an unbiased, objective and comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week.
Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict
This exhaustive 4 volume set offers readers at multiple levels key insights into the military, political, social, cultural, and religious origins of the Arab-Israeli conflict.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd ed.
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
A comprehensive analytical resource covering the whole of public international law that represents a new edition of the print version published between 1991 and 2001. New and updated content will be added on a rolling basis.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
This resource provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics.
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
An international and interdisciplinary work which covers legal history from ancient to modern times. Offers a clear background on geographically distinctive laws, their origins, and their consequences throughout world history.
Foreign Law Guide
The Foreign Law Guide (FLG) is a database that offers relevant on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination. From Brill Online.
Encyclopedia of Global Change
Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
Country Overviews in Print
The following items are excellent resources for general country information and overviews. Most recent editions are available at the Reference Desk.
Political Handbook of the World by
Call Number: JF 37 .P61 2007
Information on more than 200 countries throughout the world. Political Handbook of the World provides facts and analysis on each country's governmental and political makeup. PHW is known for extensive coverage of major, minor, and anti-systemic political parties in each political system around the world.
Political Risk Yearbook (in Eight Volumes) by
Call Number: JA 1 .A1 P631 2007
Country Reports on 106 countries. Each report provides political and economic risk analysis. Reports include information about political leaders and parties (including opposition groups), recent political history, and business information.
The Stateman's Yearbook by
Call Number: JA 51 .S7
Provides detailed military information in additional to overviews.
World FactBook by
Call Number: PREX 3.15: (Gov Doc)
Less detailed than Europa, but includes some maps. Click on the title for the most recent edition online.