Research Guides: Business Administration: Industry Research

Complete Guide to Industry Research

IBIS: Complete Guide to Industry Research

Industry Ratios

Annual Statement Studies
Lewis Reserve
HF 5681 .B2 R6

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios
Lewis Reserve
HF 5681 .R25 T68

Industry Codes

Many business publications and databases use industry codes to organize data. American companies are grouped into industries according to their Standard Industrial Classification code (SIC), established by the Office of the Budget & Management (OMB). In 1997, OMB announced its decision to adopt the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS pronounced Nakes) as the industry classification system used by the statistical agencies of the United States.

Industry Reports

IBIS World Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
U.S. industry reports including key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends.
This resource is funded by the generosity of John and Terese Terry (Loyola class of 1959).
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Company profiles, industry reports, and case studies. Also includes city and country reports using PEST/PESTLE standard analysis framework.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Research reports on consumer markets and products in the United States. Includes related demographic data and analysis, market opportunities and strategies, and articles on trends in global consumer markets. Coverage: new reports added weekly. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access to a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.
Provided by the Terry Fund.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, marketing, economics from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Coverage: 1820 - present.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Investment information and analyses on industries and companies including industry surveys, company profiles, financial forecasts, earning and dividends reports, and reports for stocks, bonds and mutual funds. Coverage: updated daily.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Articles from global newspapers, newswires, trade journals, and magazines on a range of topics related to business, economics, politics, current events, trends and government data. Also contains company profiles, news articles and corporate financials. Includes Forbes Magazine, the Dow Jones, and Reuters newswires.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Information technology research findings including analyses, opinions, trends, leading practices, and case studies. Use your Loyola network ID to login.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Contains information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Includes independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio building tools, and web-based educational tutorials. Limited to 2 concurrent users.
Value Line This link opens in a new window
Investment information, analyses, and advice on companies, industries, markets, and economies. Includes publications covering stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles. Coverage: updated daily with current stock data.
Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Competitive industry and company benchmarking data. Includes solvency ratios, efficiency ratios, and profitability ratios. Coverage: past five years.

Industry Codes

North American Industry Classification System
Standard Industrial Classification

The NAICS numbering system is a six-digit code. The first two digits designate the largest business sector. The third digit designates the sub sector, the fourth digit designates the industry group, and the fifth digit designates particular industries. The last digit designates national industries. The first five digits are generally the same in all three countries.

SECTOR	31	Manufacturing
SUBSECTOR	311	Food Manufacturing
INDUSTRY GROUP	3112	Grain and Oilseed Milling
NAICS INDUSTRY	31121	Flour Milling and Malt Manufacturing
U.S. INDUSTRY	311211	Flour Milling

NAICS Website
This site allows keyword searches for industries, in addition to providing NAICS/SIC conversion tables.

The SIC numbering system uses is a four-digit code. The first two digits designate a general industrial sector. The third digit designates the industry group, while the last digit specifies a more focused industry segment.

MAJOR GROUP	20	Food And Kindred Products
INDUSTRY GROUP	204	Grain Mill Products
INDUSTRY	2041	Flour and Other Grain Mill Products

SIC Codes Website
Codes can also be searched by keyword (e.g. automobiles)

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Business Administration

Complete Guide to Industry Research

Industry Ratios

Industry Codes

Industry Reports

Industry Codes